Skip to content

what’s not to love

April 7, 2011

Besides the fact that I’ve been pretty busy with school work, I’ve really been taking some time to enjoy a couple of simple things in life right now.

And if I’ve learned anything at all, it’s to appreciate those moments of bliss, little delights, and savory unexpected loves.

Here’s a quick list of what I’m loving:

[Please make note that I abstained from including chocolate, nutella, and peanut butter from this list. Though, trust me. They are frequent visitors to my desk. Keep your friends close. Keep your enemies closer.]

1. The days are longer! While some may think this is ideal for getting more work done, (and those some people may be right) it’s also mentally uplifting. It’s tough when your body “thinks” the day is over just because it’s pitch black out at 5PM. With more daytime, there’s more sunlight.

More sun, more shine, more smiles.

Corny? Yes. True? Double yes.

2. Flowers are really starting to bloom. Even if we’re not quite there with daisies, they’ll be making their appearances soon enough. And while I’m not one for receiving flowers (save yourself the money and me the dishonest “thank you”), they’re uplifting and encouraging to see.

Hey, if they can make it with all this crazy weather, then I can make it through the end of senior year.

3. You might have noticed a trend by now that ties along with warmer weather and sunshine. Obviously this means ice-cream places are replacing their boarded up windows with cheery staff. Because you know they love putting rainbow sprinkles on your cone as much as you love eating it. And another thing! This photo was taken in California last summer. Yes, I had to travel to Cali to go to a self-serve fro-yo place.

The best news ever? There’s one opening up down the street from me.

The bad news? I might be gone by then.

Then again, this might be very good for my unemployed bank account.

Yes, making faces in photos makes the fro-yo taste even better (if you can even imagine that…)

4. Speaking of yogurt, I’ve been devouring this Chobani stash like no one’s business. Actually, that’s a lie. I’ve been limiting myself. I keep telling myself that the protein will only help me improve with work and assignments. But I want them to last forever, and while that’s not possible, I can at least make my stash last until the expiration date.

PS. I was never one for flavored yogurt besides the basic berry flavors.

Oh, Chobani, you have more than converted me. Thank you again, Emily, for the sweet hookup!

5. The other night I went to a Bible Study group for the first time. It was beautiful and honestly just what I needed, especially during Lent. The discussions were enlightening, the people were great, and the timing was perfect. I can’t even be sad that I didn’t know about it/them until it’s basically a countdown until graduation.

That’s when you know it was good.

That’s when you know God has His plan.

______________

What simple thing(s) are you enjoying right now?

Which do you prefer: hard ice-cream, soft-serve, or frozen yogurt? I’m all about the frozen yogurt. My go-to order is the chocolate and vanilla swirl in a cup (ALWAYS) with colored sprinkles. That changes when it comes to self-serve, though.  The Northeast really needs to get it going with the self-serve shops. We are missing out over here!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2011 8:21 pm

    i love your “what you’re loving right now”!
    my list also consists of the days being longer and the blooming flowers… ahhh that’s when you know summer is coming! i can’t wait.
    if you aren’t gone by then, please invite me over to come eat froyo with you!! 🙂

    • Natalia permalink*
      April 8, 2011 12:53 pm

      Girl, you have an OPEN invitation!!

  2. April 7, 2011 8:31 pm

    I agree more self-serve yogurt in the Northeast! I’d have to travel over 4 hours to get some, obviously that doesn’t happen. I even thought about opening one, but I’m unfortunately not independently wealthy- too bad right?

    • Natalia permalink*
      April 8, 2011 12:53 pm

      I’ve had the same thought! And then the reality of my bank account crushes that dream.

  3. April 7, 2011 9:28 pm

    I can’t only choose one type of ice cream…I love it in all forms! 🙂

    Loving all of that Chobani!

    • Natalia permalink*
      April 8, 2011 12:52 pm

      I know, it’s one of life’s dilemmas!

  4. April 7, 2011 10:28 pm

    mmmmm ice cream!!! I can’t wait to start enjoying it in warm weather – I’m sick of the cold… midwest weather and I don’t agree. 🙂

    • Natalia permalink*
      April 8, 2011 12:52 pm

      I’ve never been to the midwest! I would love to check it out in the warmer weather, especially to hit up some ice cream stands…

  5. April 7, 2011 11:08 pm

    Fro-yooo!! I’m a rainbow sprinkle fiend. It think it’s more like, I get fro-yo with my rainbow sprinkles 🙂

    • Natalia permalink*
      April 8, 2011 12:51 pm

      I was kind of afraid to admit that, but now I think we should be best friends because I really only order fro-you “on the side” of my sprinkles 🙂

  6. April 8, 2011 12:39 pm

    I second that – frozen yogurt places are few and far between in Pennsylvania, too. Hmph. I just HAD to get some from Pinkberry when I was in NYC last year, and whoa, was it amazing! I’m a chocolate girl, although sometimes I go with swirl. You can’t really go wrong with any kind of ice cream or yogurt, though 😉

    • Natalia permalink*
      April 8, 2011 12:50 pm

      True story! Any ice cream or yogurt is good!

  7. April 8, 2011 1:13 pm

    Self-serve froyo is by far my fav! I love being able to put on whatever kind of toppings I want! I’m from PA and we just got 2 new self-serve froyo places in my town and I am so happy 🙂

    • Natalia permalink*
      April 9, 2011 12:41 pm

      How exciting! I’m beyond jealous. Invite me over please? 🙂

  8. April 8, 2011 3:24 pm

    gahh. i really want to get back into a bible study group…my ex and i used to go together at HIS church, but then he stopped going with me…and then we broke up…haha.

    LOVE chobani, too!

    xo.

  9. April 9, 2011 7:52 am

    How fun to find your blog! I think we might have a lot in common 😉
    I have never ever been to a self-serve fro-yo…and yes, that makes me very sad. I’m going to devote my whole summer to finding one around here and then making up for lost time!
    And I agree that this time of year is a wonderful time to get into a Bible study. Every Easter, I am renewed in the knowledge that Jesus gave Himself for me that I might live!

  10. April 9, 2011 2:11 pm

    I love the fact that the days are longer too! It makes me feel like I have so much more time to get things done!

  11. April 9, 2011 11:38 pm

    i love all of those things! the longer days and the frozen yogurt especially. my fiance took me to get some tonight – i ALWAYS put sprinkles on mine! 🙂

    • Natalia permalink*
      April 10, 2011 1:51 pm

      Sprinkles are the only way to go 😉

  12. April 10, 2011 12:57 pm

    keep going! senior year! so close 🙂

    • Natalia permalink*
      April 10, 2011 1:51 pm

      Gah, I know! SO close.

Leave a Reply

