Skip to content

home alone time

April 4, 2011
tags:

This past weekend was pretty quiet for me social-wise.

At first I was disappointed when I found out that my friends were each going home or had to work, but then I realized it was an opportunity for me to just enjoy the limited number of weekends I have left being a college student and local resident of Newport.

The sunny weather and the chance to get some work done (or not) more than made up for my friends being out of town.

On Sunday morning specifically I got up early (getting out of bed before 8am on a Sunday is definitely classified as “early” when you’re still in college) and went out for a walk to take in what signs of spring I could.

The weather was gorgeous with bright blue skies and not a cloud in sight. Seeing flowers start to bloom and grass beginning to take on their green hues made me smile and crave for the summer weather.

The time to myself was really the perfect opportunity to just enjoy “being” and to appreciate the sights and smells and energy of the town I’ve come to call home for the past four years. 

And sometimes, a little quiet time to yourself can help you realize that you’re your own best friend who will not judge you if you put your pajamas on at 5PM sharp.

 ______________

What do you do when you have no “socializing” plans?

Do you ever go a weekend without seeing friends or family?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 11:25 am

    You got tons of pretty pictures though! On weekends like these, I spend lots of time reading!

  2. April 4, 2011 4:38 pm

    I do go weekends without socializing, sometimes now. Its not exciting, but usually relaxing and refreshing…good for getting things done too.
    The pics are lovely!

  3. April 4, 2011 6:49 pm

    Such pretty pictures — fingers crossed that spring is FINALLY starting to bloom!

  4. April 4, 2011 10:02 pm

    Love your pics! On my alone weekends, I love to spend time with a good book and catching up with my DVR!

  5. April 5, 2011 12:49 am

    I love having some alone time… sometimes it’s easier to take that time when you are kind of forced to.

  6. April 5, 2011 2:10 pm

    alone time can be SO refreshing for me. I love taking that time to read books, take long walks, go explore the city on my own, or even cook a nice meal for myself! gorgeous pictures!

  7. April 5, 2011 3:04 pm

    I acutally enjoy weekends when my husband and I have no social plans. I love it. We are able to do whatever we want and that usually involves watching movies on the couch on a Friday or Saturday night hanging out with the puppy. No plans are my favorite plans!

  8. April 6, 2011 12:49 am

    what gorgeous pictures!

    we definitely have many a nights were we do netflix marathons! too many nights actually! 😛

  9. April 6, 2011 1:55 pm

    We’ve been so busy lately that having no plans sounds like the best way to spend a weekend. I love the spring pictures! Makes me want to go down there now! Yes, definitely need a visit. Shoot me an email so we can coordinate!

    And thanks for keeping me in your prayers 🙂

  10. April 12, 2011 11:52 pm

    Natalia,
    I found your blog through Joy the Baker, and thought that lamppost looked New Englandy. I was so excited when I read you were living in Newport. I grew up in Wickford and my husband and I moved our family out to Arizona in October 2002. I miss RI immensely, but NOT the cold weather.
    Congratulations on your upcoming graduation! What an accomplishment!

Trackbacks

  1. what’s not to love « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

