Skip to content

easy quick oat pancakes

March 26, 2011

When it’s Saturday morning and you just want your mom (for no particular reason other than the fact that she’s your mom), it’s time to whip out Aunt Jemima.

Oh yes I did just go there.

If you’re going to have syrup, make it butter rich.

And come Saturday it’s officially the weekend, though I may start celebrating on Fridays every now and again.

Syrup and pancakes are necessary.

Wait. Come back.

Don’t let the texture or look scare you away. These are just as good as those white fluffy pancakes you’re comparing them to in your head. In fact, they’re probably even better.

I promise these taste delicious. Just make sure you add some extra chocolate chips for good measure (or lack OF measuring skills).

______________

 Easy Quick Oat Pancakes

(serves 1)

Main Attraction

-1/4 cup of quick oats

-1/4 cup of flour (I used GF white rice flour but you could easily use another 1/4 cup of quick oats or any other flour)

-1/2 cup of milk of choice (soy, cow’s, almond, rice, etc.)

-1 teaspoon of baking powder

-1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

-dash of cinnamon

-some (more) chocolate chips

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together. Let sit for at least five minutes. Grease/butter pan and add batter to medium-hot skillet. Flip when bubbles appear on top.
*These stuck to the pan for me at first so I just greased it more between pancakes.  

Toppings of choice should include chocolate, syrup, peanut butter, butter, or anything else that reminds you of home.

Enjoy. It is Saturday.

No excuses. Play like a champion.

Make these now.

______________

Do you change-up your breakfast routine on the weekends? Usually I don’t. I really stick to my favorites, but this morning I wanted something different and only pancakes would do it!

What are your favorite pancake toppings? If I’m going to have pancakes, I want at least some syrup. I’ll also add yogurt, peanut butter, jelly, or anything else I’m in the mood for. It depends what I’m craving!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2011 9:17 am

    I agree – pancakes just aren’t the same without syrup!

  2. March 26, 2011 2:16 pm

    I definitely switch up my routine on the weekend. I don’t have time to make “good” breakfasts during the week ever haha! Pancakes are perfect for me on the weekend!! Yours look delicious, girl!

  3. March 26, 2011 9:31 pm

    Yum! I think oat pancakes would make me eat more of them than regular pancakes. I think my mom’s topping is the best – mashed up blueberries/blueberry syrup! It’s so delicious…and now I miss my mom, too!

  4. March 27, 2011 1:36 pm

    We always quick oats at home, never thought of using in pancakes. Looks great!

  5. March 27, 2011 5:34 pm

    Oat pancakes have such a great texture. It’s a nice change from the fluffy kind! I usually stick to old favorite breakfasts too, but muffins, pancakes or french toast can be a nice change if I’m in the mood. Oh, I haven’t had Aunt Jemima syrup in ages, but I adore the butter rich one!

  6. March 27, 2011 6:51 pm

    These pancakes sound awesome! I need to try them soon!

  7. March 27, 2011 8:08 pm

    I love oats and pancakes so -hey-why not combine ’em! Nice weekend breakfast

Trackbacks

  1. a far flashback friday « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

