Skip to content

tofu + broccoli peanut stir fry

March 24, 2011

I’m now in the homestretch for school and senior year. Graduation is literally days away (50, give or take a few) and it’s often a time crunch for assignments, work, internships, and sleep.

Oh wait. It’s usually like that.

Chelsey from Clean Eating Chelsey recently wrote a post that hit home for me and that I truly appreciate, especially with everything going on in my life right now. You should definitely check it out. It’s about life and taking the next step. Thanks so much, Chelsey! I should probably say that the fact that you love ketchup just as much as I do and are GF also make me want to be real-life BFFs with you.

P.S. She’s also hosting a pretty great giveaway!

Speaking of stepping-stones, yesterday I made tofu.

This was a big step for me. When I was about five or so one of my aunts made my brother, sister, and I eat it.

We didn’t like it. Since then I’ve been scarred.

But after reading Chelsey’s post, I decided to take a leap of faith all the way to the grocery store and try my hands at some tofu skills.

I knew broccoli would make it better.

I also knew a peanut flour sauce would most likely keep me from calling my aunt and telling her how traumatized I still was.

I’ve been converted.

I really liked the texture and the flavor and I’m definitely looking forward to trying out some more tofu recipes!

Now I can’t wait for it to be Friday just so I have another excuse to eat tofu again. (On Fridays during Lent I don’t eat meat).

Here’s the recipe I followed to get tofu back into my life after that one devastating day many years ago…

_______________ 

Tofu + Broccoli Peanut Stir Fry

(serves 1, can easily be multiplied)

Main Attraction:

-1/4 block of tofu (I used Nasoya Extra Firm) 

-1-2 cups of broccoli

For Sauce:

-2 Tablespoons of peanut flour

-2 Tablespoons of milk

-water

-salt

On Hand:

-salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Cut tofu block into slabs (as seen in first photo), wrap in paper towels, and place heavy books on top to drain the water. While your tofu is draining, roast broccoli in the oven for approximately 20 minutes at 400 degrees, stirring halfway through. Make peanut sauce by adding peanut flour and milk together with a dash or two of salt. Add water for a more liquid-like consistency. Put aside. By now your tofu should be ready. Cut into desired cube size portions and fry in a skillet until lightly browned, flipping as necessary. Keeping the heat on, add broccoli and peanut sauce to pan and stir fry so that sauce thickens up. Serve with rice or rice noodles and garnish with crushed peanuts.

Now be brave if you’ve never tried it and prepare to have a revelation.

______________

______________

This isn’t a question, more like a request. Please share your favorite tofu recipes with me! After all, it’s almost Friday!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2011 9:36 am

    We can be real life friends! Thanks for the link love. 🙂

  2. March 24, 2011 10:47 am

    I’ve eaten tofu from Whole Foods but never tried making it myself. This recipe sounds so yummy though! And so so healthy!

  3. March 24, 2011 12:14 pm

    I love the color of that burner!

    I like tofu but hardly ever make it at home. Too intimidated, I guess, lol. I have bought it several times and never actually cooked it! I really want to eat more of it, though. It can be quite delicious.

    • Natalia permalink*
      March 24, 2011 1:26 pm

      I have this sneaky suspicion that my hometown is near you. I think we need to discuss this in detail 🙂

  4. March 24, 2011 7:36 pm

    That looks really good! Now I know what to do with my peanut flour 😉

  5. March 25, 2011 4:38 pm

    YUM! I also observe non-meat Fridays for Lent. Looking forward to my tilapia tonight!

  6. March 26, 2011 10:25 am

    this stir fry looks great! I just had a noodle bowl and tacos with tofu and loved it both ways!

  7. Madeleine permalink
    March 27, 2011 6:50 pm

    Yum. I made a variation of this the other night with a peanut butter-based sauce. Today I had the left-overs chilled with spicy kimchee. Thanks for the inspiration.

    My favorite tofu recipe lately is from Heidi Swanson at 101cookbooks.com: http://tinyurl.com/5v66nx

Trackbacks

  1. Best Personal Posts « ENG 452: New Media
  2. a far flashback friday « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

