Skip to content

it’s all greek, it’s all good

March 17, 2011

It’s also kind of ironic that my last post talked about visiting Greece for spring break last year.

Why?

Because recently the lovely Emily from Chobani hooked me up with some Greek yogurt goodness!

If I can’t go to Greece, why not bring some of Greece to me?

I’m a huge yogurt fan but have only ever actually tried Chobani’s plain non-fat Greek yogurt. The health benefits of Greek yogurt (a thick, tangy alternative to regular yogurt) are great and it makes an excellent breakfast, lunch, snack,  or dinner component. It’s also a great substitute in recipes.

Imagine my absolute joy when this arrived at my door then…

As far as the Easter bunny is concerned, he can keep his colored eggs. These are the only colors I want to see in my basket come April!

Check out all those flavors! I had no idea what flavor to try first. Naturally for me, I wanted to stick with the plain, but I knew something even tastier was just waiting for me in those pretty containers. Which top to peel first was the hardest decision…

I ended up choosing the Black Cherry 0%.

I’m usually not a fan of cherry, except for cherry flavored medicine. Weird? Yes, but true.

I chose it because I didn’t really have high expectations for it. (Insert: Fail, Natalia. Big fail).

Let’s just say I didn’t even give myself time to add in any mix-ins or take a before photo.

This is an empty container.

The contents were quickly devoured after I savored the first bite. 

Black Cherry, meet your newest fan. I loved the flavor, I loved the texture, and I loved the real cherries that came up from the bottom when I stirred it.

And the stats alone are enough to write home about.  

As Chobani would say, “nothing but good.”

(Check out Fitsugar’s extensive Greek yogurt nutritional guide!) 

Bring on the next flavor!

Disclaimer: Chobani kindly sent me these yogurts. There was no compensation for this review. This post is entirely my own opinion and thoughts. A huge “thank you” to Chobani, though!

______________

What’s your favorite Greek yogurt brand/flavor? I really think I’m hooked on Chobani. Plain is still my favorite flavor but that could very well change soon.

What’s your favorite yogurt mix-ins? I’m a die-hard banana mix-in fan, along with adding in some oats or cereal or something to give it a crunch.

Any yogurt recipe ideas? Please share!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 11:42 am

    I love the black cherry flavor! I’m trying to decrease the amount of greek yogurt I’ve been drinking because when I eat it every day my stomach hurts. But I sure am a chobani lover!!

  2. March 17, 2011 12:39 pm

    I love Chobani!!! I use yogurt for everything, each week we buy two large containers and then little flavored containers. Right now I’m loving pomegrante and honey, but I’m in search of the cherry- but can’t seem to find it…

    • Natalia permalink*
      March 17, 2011 11:01 pm

      Mmm I can’t wait to try those flavors!

  3. March 17, 2011 1:32 pm

    I love Chobani–but it’s been a few months since I’ve had yogurt! I really need to try the new flavors–especially black cherry!

  4. March 17, 2011 6:25 pm

    I’ve actually never had Chobani simply because it’s too expensive for my budget..but I do love yogurt!! My favorite mix-ins are all types of cereals. I love the texture mixture.

    • Natalia permalink*
      March 17, 2011 11:00 pm

      I love the crunch of cereals, too!

  5. thequirkykitchen permalink
    March 17, 2011 7:01 pm

    I would have picked the black cherry too! 🙂 I like chopped apple mixed into my soya yoghurt – it totally floats ma boat!

  6. March 17, 2011 9:25 pm

    They don’t sell Chobani in my part of Canada -boo!

    Wow – that’s a lot of Chobani! Don’t they need to be refrigerated? Where do you have room?!!

    • Natalia permalink*
      March 17, 2011 10:59 pm

      Aw, you’re missing out! I stuck them in my refrigerator.

  7. March 18, 2011 7:55 am

    That’s so awesome!! I love the black cherry and the peach!! You’re seriously going to love all these flavors!

  8. March 18, 2011 2:12 pm

    Emily just sent me some Chobani, too! You MUST try the lemon flavor next! It’s simply amazing 😉

    • Natalia permalink*
      March 20, 2011 5:48 pm

      Lemon is next on the list. Thanks for the suggestion!

  9. March 18, 2011 4:05 pm

    this post makes me want to laugh and cry all at the same time! We CANNOT get Cho here in Canada!!! I’ve looked everywhere and nothing! It’s just not available!

    I’m just so jealous of your chobani wealth! ughhhh! 😉

  10. March 19, 2011 8:49 am

    I definitely dig on Chobani – A LOT! I love the plain, myself, and prefer granola with my yogurt! It’s the best! =)

    • Natalia permalink*
      March 20, 2011 5:33 pm

      That’s my ideal yogurt, too!

  11. March 20, 2011 12:49 pm

    yum! Our UK version of this is called Muller Light yoghurts. Not greek but very delicious. Hope these bad boys come across the pond soon!!!

    • Natalia permalink*
      March 20, 2011 5:32 pm

      Haha, Muller Light sounds like a beer!

Trackbacks

  1. what’s not to love « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

