Skip to content

there’s a lot to health

March 9, 2011

 Today I want to talk a bit about health: nutrition, body perception, and spiritual.

______________

Nutrition Health

 For those of you who may not know yet, March is National Nutrition Month. It’s a yearly campaign run by the American Dietetic Association.

This year’s theme is “Eat Right with Color.”

(source)

 

I think March is an ideal month to really hone in on nutrition and healthy eating because the constant change in weather (Warm? Cold? Rain? Snow?) can really give your immune system a challenge.

So in honor of National Nutrition Month, I’m sharing two links I found recently that are really useful when it comes to boosting your nutrition and immune system.

  1. Prevention Magazine’s Healthiest Packaged Foods for 2011

A great resource list for finding new power foods that you can easily incorporate into your diet!

  1. Fit Sugar’s article Why You Should Be Eating Colorful Foods

Adding some color to your plate isn’t only healthy, it’s fun, simple, and tastes good!

 

P.S. If you’re a blogger, check out this awesome giveaway from Swanson Health Products.

Have a blog? Want to win a $100? Check out the Swanson Health Blog 

Perfect for National Nutrition Month!

______________

Body Perception Health

Health isn’t only what we put into our body, though. Another critical component to overall health and wellbeing is our perception of ourself and our mental treatment of our body.

I always find good music can heighten your mood and give you just the inner boost you need. So get this… 

One of my very favorite bloggers, Caitlin from Healthy Tipping Point, is the force behind Operation Beautiful

Peter Hollins, creative music extraordinaire, does a collaboration with Operation Beautiful and Lady Gaga’s newest song, Born this Way.  

Great music + a great message? Can you say job well done!?

Check it out!

______________

Spiritual Health

Today, Ash Wednesday, marks the beginning of the Catholic Lenten season. My faith is a critical component to my life and is truly a driving force for who I am and who I want to be.

Last year I was fortunate enough to make a pilgrimage to Fatima during the last week of Lent. It was an incredible, intimate experience of faith and intercession, and just thinking back on it gives me chills.

Along with following the traditional fasting and abstinence obligations, this year I’m really going to try to focus on little things I can do to make the most of this time of prayer and sacrifice. I believe that channeling my inner strength and trying to grow as an individual will only help me affect those around me. While some cringe at the thought of Lent, I’m actually looking forward to it as a self-journey and a time for opening my heart up to spiritual growth.

______________

What are some ways you’re making March a healthier month for you?

I know a lot of people set goals in the beginning of the month, so what’s one goal you’ve set for March?  

3 Comments leave one →
  1. DiningAndDishing permalink
    March 9, 2011 10:45 am

    I set a goal at the end of Feb that I hope to carry into March and it’s just to be nice to my body and myself! Less drinking, healthy eating, moderate exercise etc. Going well so far!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  2. March 10, 2011 7:51 am

    Great post!! Love the two articles you link to! I’m trying to eat more veggies at dinnertime during March!

  3. March 10, 2011 1:31 pm

    Love this post! I’m going to try to eat more balanced meals in March.

Leave a Reply

