Skip to content

pineapple + soy quinoa

March 7, 2011

If you like stir-fry, pineapple, Asian-inspired food, soy sauce, or all of the above, get ready to make an easy “take-out” dinner at home.

My love affair with quinoa really took off after I found out about my allergy to gluten.

Now I’m constantly substituting it for where pasta and noodles would be and casually using it to replace rice.

______________

In case you’re on the fence about it, here are my (current) top 3 Reasons why you should meet quinoa:

1. Quinoa is a hearty, nutty flavored power food that I find so easy to mix with basic ingredients for great flavor and bold taste.

2. It’s also really easy to cook up, which is ideal when it’s 9pm and you’re wondering what you’re going to have for dinner. You’ve already gone the route of oatmeal and yogurt bowls + cereal for too many days in a row and you’re realizing you need some vegetables in there.

Vegetables, my friend, do not pair well with oatmeal and yogurt. Fact.

3. Taking a hint from reason #2, it’s incredibly easy to make a side dish or main meal by adding in vegetables and some form of protein depending on your tastes.

This time I went the route of peppers and broccoli.  

______________

Pineapple + Soy Quinoa

(serves 1, can easily be multiplied)

Main Attraction:

-1/4 cup dry quinoa

-1/2 cup pineapple juice

-about 1 cup of mixed peppers (I used a frozen mix)

-about 1/2 cup of broccoli (also frozen)

-2 pineapple rings sliced

For Sauce

-1 Tablespoon of soy sauce

-3 Tablespoons of pineapple juice

On Hand:

-salt + pepper + water

Directions:

Prepare the quinoa according to box directions but cook it in the pineapple juice so the quinoa absorbs the flavor. Add some water throughout the cooking process if it simmers too quickly. Lightly season broccoli with salt and pepper and roast in the oven at 350 degrees for approximately 15 minutes, stirring as needed to prevent burning. (Keep an eye on it. I used a toaster oven so just mind how your oven temperature runs). While quinoa and broccoli are cooking, stir fry the mixed peppers in a lightly oiled or non stick frying pan with a few Tablespoons of water until tender. 

On the side combine your soy sauce and pineapple juice. Slice your pineapple rings into chunks.

Combine all ingredients. Season with salt + pepper to taste.     

Again, you can easily add in meat, tofu, or any other protein source to make it more hearty and have fun with your favorite vegetables for mix-ins!

It’s cheaper and faster than ordering take-out, I promise.

And your order is sure to be exactly what you wanted. 

Enjoy!

______________

What’s your favorite way to prepare quinoa? Right now I’m really loving this flavor combination, but I have yet to taste a quinoa dish that I haven’t like.

What’s your favorite “take-out” meal that you make at home? I think homemade pizza is always going to win for my favorite to-go meal!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 5:43 pm

    oh what a fun combination – looks delicious!

  2. March 7, 2011 7:10 pm

    I just made a YUMMY recipe using quinoa… it’s my current favorite combination of flavors and textures – including butternut squash and black beans! 🙂

    http://pinchofyum.com/post/3700797392/butternut-squash-black-bean-wrap

    • Natalia permalink*
      March 7, 2011 7:43 pm

      I’m not a fan of squash or beans 😦 but you get gold stars for the quinoa!

  3. March 7, 2011 8:38 pm

    Quinoa is one of my favorite grains. I love adding tons of vegetables and black beans to it! Adding pineapple is genius!

  4. March 7, 2011 10:24 pm

    I love all quinoa, and I doubt their is a recipe with it that I wouldn’t like- I’m definitiely interested in using it for breakfast at some point…

  5. March 8, 2011 12:58 am

    yummy!! i need to use the quinoa in my cupboard and this is perfect!

  6. March 8, 2011 12:14 pm

    I love finding new quinoa recipes! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  7. March 8, 2011 1:52 pm

    I have been obsessed with quinoa lately. It is so good and versatile! Great idea to combine it with pineapple – so yummy.

    And YES! Live visits 🙂 I think we’re actually going to come to Newport this weekend for the St. Patty’s parade. Are you around?!

    • Natalia permalink*
      March 8, 2011 6:41 pm

      Oh no! I’m going to be heading home for spring break 😦 You’ll just have to come back!

  8. March 8, 2011 7:26 pm

    That looks awesome! I love quinoa!

  9. March 17, 2011 11:43 am

    Reason #4 : It is now the OFFICIAL grain of basketball! 😉 Just joking, kind of…

    • Natalia permalink*
      March 17, 2011 11:01 pm

      I totally support that statement!

Trackbacks

  1. a far flashback friday « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

