Skip to content

friday treats and recent eats

March 4, 2011

Any morning that starts out with a package delivered to your front door is a sure sign that the day is off to a good start.

That is, of course, if that package doesn’t require a bill to be paid at some point.

This one required no bill.

About a week ago I won a reader/blogger giveaway from Jen at Canoe of Life.

Her blog documents her journey as a newly married woman striving to live a healthy, balanced life. Go check her out!  

I was pretty excited to have won her giveaway but I never expected my package to arrive in the mail so quickly. 

Here’s a look inside.

And a better closeup so you can really see the goods.

Jen basically sent me a Trader Joe’s love affair package, which rocked my day and totally got my weekend off to the perfect start.

I have yet to ever go to a TJ’s but I honestly have dreams about my first adventure there.

She included penguin gummies, trail mix, a fruit leather (my siblings and I were obsessed with these when we were young), banana chips, dark chocolate, and peanut flour.

You heard right. Jen is so devoted to her fans and readers that she offered to send one the beloved, cherished, and discontinued Trader Joe’s Peanut Flour!

I can’t thank you enough, Jen. I’m going to savor every spoonful of that peanut flour, you can be sure of that!

________________

Sticking with the topic of food for today, I thought I would include a few pictures of some of my recent eats. I hardly ever do this and usually just take picture of food if it’s a party, holiday, or something special, but I thought one or two shots wouldn’t hurt.

These are three different food shots that I haven’t been able to get enough of lately.

1. Brussel Sprouts – I can’t believe I only started eating them this year. I don’t mind making up for lost time, though, even if I char them in the process.

 

2. Yogurt Messes – Whether I’m mixing them with bananas, cereal, nut butter, sunflower seeds, or (always) all of the above, they make my morning complete, especially when it’s snowing outside and shouldn’t be. 

3. Frittatas/Spanish Tortillas – An easy combination of protein, vegetables, and flavor that takes at most 15 minutes to prepare? Yes, please! Naturally, ketchup on the side is not optional.

This last picture I haven’t had any of recently.

But I wish I did. I really, really wish they were sitting in my fridge right now waiting for me indulge.

Until we meet again, Edible Arrangements’ chocolate covered fruit, I will try to replicate you in my spare time.

________________

Do you have any special plans for the weekend? I’m going to a dinner and a sleepover at one of my closest friend’s houses. Hello, grade-school flashback! I’m really excited, though, and can’t wait to see her.

What’s one food that you can’t get enough of lately? I definitely need to work on portioning out that peanut flour…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 10:29 am

    Wow, that package is amazing! I still need to try peanut flour. I love yogurt bowls. They’re by far my favorite breakfasts!

  2. March 4, 2011 11:14 am

    Mmmmm… chocolate covered fruit… Delicious!!

  3. March 4, 2011 12:44 pm

    I’m glad you are so excited about the package! I tried the banana chips the other day, but I can’t say they taste like a banana. Maybe I should combine them with the peanut flour…

    Have fun at the sleep over!

  4. March 4, 2011 12:58 pm

    Oh man that looks like an awesome package!!!! I love TJ’s. So sad that you’ve never been to one! They’re awesome 🙂 I love peanut flour, although I’ve had to switch to PB2 since peanut flour is no longer on the shelves 😦

  5. March 5, 2011 6:33 am

    Popped in to say hi! I too, dream of riding horses and am addicted to PB! Love your blog!

    • Natalia permalink*
      March 5, 2011 11:43 am

      Hi, long lost BFF 🙂 Let’s chat soon about our love for pb and horses!

  6. March 5, 2011 1:47 pm

    Great package!

    I love me some brussel sprouts 😉

  7. March 5, 2011 3:55 pm

    you got a great package of goodies! Peanut Flour rocks!!!!!! I love it!!!

    Ummmmmmm those chocolate yums look amazing!

    Plans tonight are dinner and movie date with my lover! Seeing Hall Pass but we are still undecided on dinner!

Trackbacks

  1. Pleasing to the eye « ENG 452: New Media

Leave a Reply

