Skip to content

on the bookshelf: the help

March 2, 2011

If I had to pick one picture to sum up my life as a college student, I would probably go for the one below.

I would be lost without my laptop, especially with all the reading and writing and (blog stalking) researching and that I have to do. Yet sometimes we just need to take a break in our relationship.

It’s not you, it’s me. I promise.

_____________________

We’ve established before how much I adore books.

(My infatuation with the character of Jo March gave me away, didn’t it?) 

And despite how much I’m a fan of the internet and watching tv/reading magazines online (oh yeah, and doing homework), every now and again I try to simply unplug and go turn some non-virtual pages.

If that’s a crime, I’m guilty and proud of it.

 I’ve said before that I usually gravitate toward the YA section of libraries, but to be honest my university library’s YA section is nonexistent. Back in the day when I was on a quest for it, I asked the librarian where it was. She said I was standing in it.

I’m sorry, but a copy of The Giver and the Harry Potter books does not qualify as the makings of an adequate YA selection.

I maintained my composure, though, and simply smiled and thanked her. Then I promptly walked to the browsing section downstairs where I was hoping I would find more help.

And help I did find! I’ve heard rave reviews about this book for quite sometime now but I was just never interested in it.

My advice to you today is that if you haven’t read it yet, go to your library and pick it up now (or at least put it on your list of books to read).

It was a bad idea for me to start reading it in the middle of a busy semester because I found myself constantly thinking about the characters and their stories instead of my assignments and studies. This was one of those books that I became immediately enthralled in and found myself savoring each and every chapter. I wanted to finish it as quickly as possible, but then would drag it out and limit myself to only a certain number of pages because I didn’t want it to end.

To sum it up roughly, it’s about three women in the 1960s in a small Mississippi town who find their lives intricately and delicately intertwined. Stockett gives each woman her own distinct, independent voice that it’s hard to figure out who you admire most.

I guarantee you’ll find yourself cheering on different characters, despising others, and craving a cold glass of lemonade on a swing porch in the summer heat.

 I sure did.

So, even though the university library YA shelf (yes, that’s singular) let me down, the browsing section did not disappoint. I’m only sorry I waited so long to read this book!

_____________________

***Check out my other on the bookshelf installments: I, II (school edition) , III ***

_____________________

Did you read The Help? What did you think of it?

I need a new book to read! What’s one of your recommendations?

What are you reading now?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 11:01 am

    I’m going to put The Help on my to read book list. Right now I’m reading Priceless by Nicole Richie. I wasn’t quite sure about the book in the beginning, but I have to admit… it’s really good.

  2. March 2, 2011 2:33 pm

    I love YA books too, and Jo March is the best!! I loved Little Women. Right now I’m reading Wuthering Bites. I’ve got a couple in mind for next, but not sure yet 🙂

  3. March 2, 2011 3:40 pm

    I really liked The Help. Your next read should be The Kitchen House by
    Kathleen Grissom. That was another one of those can’t-put-down books.

  4. March 2, 2011 9:52 pm

    You know my thoughts on Jo March 🙂 I’m currently reading a Deepak Chopra book, and I just finished reading Lorrie Moore’s “A Gate at the Stairs” – really interesting but a litle slow. I have heard awesome things about The Help so I want to get to it.

  5. March 2, 2011 9:55 pm

    I have The Help on my reading list, I just haven’t gotten there. I recently read Sarah’s Key and really liked it, it’s written from two perspectives so it definitley a different and fun read.

  6. March 3, 2011 8:32 am

    I loved The Help. So many people recommended it to me, and after a few chapters, it was easy to see why. It’s been a few months now since I finished it, but I still find myself wondering/thinking about the characters sometimes. I’d love for Kathryn Stockett to do a sequel so we can see where their journeys lead – especially Skeeter, I was especially drawn to her character because of her love of writing.

    I 100% recommend Skipping a Beat by Sarah Pekkanen. I read it last week and absolutely adored it 🙂

    • bakebooks permalink
      March 3, 2011 9:20 pm

      I love that you still go back to the characters!! I would love to be able to do that with writing work some day…

  7. healthdivaeats permalink
    March 3, 2011 1:30 pm

    Hi love!!

    Thanks for the comment on my wedding invites! Yes etsy is awesome! Such great stuff on there!!

    I must read that book! Its on my list! Im reading ‘The Weird Sisters’ right now, and I really like it! xoxo

  8. March 3, 2011 2:35 pm

    Well, this sounds like just the book to get me started reading again! I go in stages where I read book after book and then go a stretch of about 1 year where I don’t read a single book….other than the books I read to my kids:)

  9. bakebooks permalink
    March 3, 2011 9:19 pm

    I LOVE that you read “real” books even though you are in the dead middle of school – that’s so important 🙂

    I haven’t read that book yet – but I have it!…but it’s on a LONG list…

    Hmm…I could talk about books forever…! – I want to read “The Alchemist” (have you?), “Unbearable Lightness” (by Portia De Rossi….not really sure though…)….

    I’m reading a book about Depression now; so I don’t think you’d want that one 😉

    But I read “Hungry” by Crystal Renn recently (the plus-sized model) – interesting recount ED from a model’s POV. (It’s on my blog).

    Peace.

  10. March 4, 2011 9:08 pm

    Hi! Just found your blog.
    I’m a huge YA lit fan too! My most recent YA read was Matched by Allie Condie. I’ve had The Help sitting on my bedroom floor for weeks–after reading this, I’m going to go start it right now!

    • Natalia permalink*
      March 5, 2011 11:42 am

      Please do and let me know what you think! Thanks so much for leaving a comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

