Skip to content

semi formal, some friends

February 28, 2011

This past weekend my university held a semi-formal for the 21+ seniors only crowd.

Usually I’m not into school dances, but after a week of classes, internships, and work, the thought of going out and celebrating a bit sounded like a good idea and a way to unwind.

Plus, a handful of my friends had been gone for most of the week due to student teaching spring breaks.

Dressing up and catching up?

Obviously that calls for a photo shoot!  

I wore a black and grey dress with a grey cardigan that I got from Kohls.

Naturally, because Kohls has the best deals ever, it was all on sale. 

Since it was the weekend, we had to start off the night right with a drink or two.

The star of the show was this Amarula Marula Fruit Cream that came straight from South Africa.

No, seriously, it did.

One of my friends studied abroad in Botswana last semester and brought it home with her. She was kind enough to share and mixed her trademark concoction of hot chocolate + the cream. 

It’s definitely too sweet to take a shot of, but makes for a fun little shot to sip.

P.S. Sipping is classy.

Photo opportunities ensued, as well as laughs and poor singing.

I’ll spare us both from the many that followed.

One or two shots may even have consisted of us trying to replicate cheerleader pyramids.

PSA: Don’t attempt in semi-formal wear, dresses, or high-heels, (especially) when a drink or two is involved.

The dance itself was typical of school dances, but it’s really nice that the university is making an active effort to put together more events especially for seniors this year.

Besides the festivities Saturday night the rest of my weekend was spent running errands, catching up on assignments, and the usual daily agenda. It was really a simple weekend with quality time spent with friends, on homework, and just relaxing.

Hm…sounds good to me! I think it can be Friday now…

____________________

Did you watch the Academy Awards? I usually never watch award shows but my friends were getting together to watch and have dinner so I joined in. James Franco isn’t bad on the eyes either.

What’s one thing you did this weekend that wasn’t typical of your usual Monday-Friday routine (hopefully, you didn’t have to work!)? I went to the library and spent time just browsing through the book shelves. Seriously, libraries and book stores are some of the most comforting places for me. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 6:48 pm

    All your dresses are so pretty! Yep, I watched the show. James is soo adorable. Love his wrinkles!

  2. February 28, 2011 8:53 pm

    Sounds like a fun weekend! This weekend I wen to brunch- I love brunch…

  3. February 28, 2011 9:16 pm

    Oh my word. I finally got to sit on the couch and read. Basically I totally forgot what that was all about.

Leave a Reply

