Skip to content

abc’s and banana cream

February 25, 2011

I’ve seen quite a few of these “ABC’s” lists going around some of my favorite blogs and I’m all about learning random facts about people. They’re usually the most interesting and can spark up the best conversations.

But before I get to my ABC’s, I wanted to share with you a little secret.

(Excuse the lackluster photos. I was excited and it was far too late to be raiding the chocolate stash).

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that most of you aware of the whole banana soft serve revolution thanks to Gena.

For awhile now it’s been something on my list of things to do, or rather my list of life changing moments I need to experience.

I don’t have access to a food processor, though, nor do I have the spare change to purchase my own, which means that I’ve been steadily becoming more and more jealous of each blogger I see experience this glory that be banana-soft-serve.

Until now that is. 

About a week ago I froze a banana because it was on its last leg and I wasn’t planning on using it yet. Yesterday I found it tucked in the back of my freezer and figured I would just defrost it for a bit and see what I could do with it sans food processor.

Ladies and gentlemen, you can indeed make banana soft serve with nothing but your arm muscles, a spoon, and a bowl as equipment (and of course, your banana). Just let a frozen banana defrost a bit until it’s of a mush-like (but not TOO mushy) consistency, then mix it together!

You can put it back in the freezer if you want it to harden up, but really there’s no need. Obviously it’s not as “smooth” as it would be mixed in a food processor but I’m going to go out on a limb and say it tastes JUST as good!

What you do need is to add chocolate in some form to this wonderful concoction. Then you need to sit down, marvel at your skills, dream of summer ice-cream stands, and eat the easiest, tastiest, healthiest form of ice-cream you can imagine.

I topped mine with some yogurt and stirred in chocolate chips. Where are colored sprinkles when you need them?

____________________

ABC’s of Natalia

A. Age: 22

B. Bed size: Full at my college apartment, twin at home.

C. Chore you hate: Anything I’m told to do. I try to get to chores and whatnot at home before my mom has to ask.

D. Dogs: Want! My family is trying to get a Belgian Sheperd. We’re so excited and praying it goes through.

E. Essential start to your day: Faith.

F. Favorite color: Green.

G. Gold or silver: Silver, always.

H. Height: 5’1”. At least that’s what I put on my license…honestly probably more like 5 feet. J

I. Instruments you play: Flute. I took lessons from third grade through senior year of high school.

J. Job title: Student. Hopefully employed come May!

K. Kids: 0.

L. Live: Currently in Rhode Island.

M. Mom’s name: Patricia.

N. Nicknames: Nat, Natty Ice, Nat King Cole, Talia.

O. Overnight hospital stays: When I was three years old I had my tonsils taken out. 

P. Pet peeve: One is loud, obnoxious people in restaurants and movie theaters, especially if they’re sick and doing that “hack” cough. Please, stay home and get better.

Q. Quote from a movie: Too many! I love quoting movies, especially Disney. My sister and I can quote entire movies. It’s a skill.

R. Right or left handed: Right.

S. Siblings: 4

T. Time you wake up: Between 7 and 8.

U. Underwear: Is this a yes or no question? It’s awkward either way…

V. Vegetables you dislike: Mushrooms are top on my dislike list.

W. What makes you run late: Traffic, other people.

X. X-Rays you’ve had: Back, teeth, neck, and probably more.

Y. Yummy food you make: Most recently I made cake balls based on Thin Mints and they were pretty divine, I have to say.

Z. Zoo- favorite animal: Big cats like tigers and panthers.

____________________

Have you made banana soft serve yet? What are your favorite mix-ins? You need to make it. Now. I’m a devoted convert. Add in chocolate. Add in sprinkles. Add in everything you want.  

Did you write an “ABC’s” list yet? Leave a comment with a link back to your post!!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 2:45 pm

    I’ve never tried banana soft serve, but yours looks so good! We’re both shorties! 🙂

  2. February 25, 2011 4:57 pm

    I’ve been seeing so many people post these ABC lists lately — so fun! I rounded up on my license too, probably by half an inch or so. Seeing it say 5’2” always makes me smile. And WOW to you playing the flute for so long. I took lessons for a few years, but then stopped. Do you still play?

  3. February 26, 2011 11:05 am

    Great post 🙂 I’ll def be trying that banana thingy, it’s the first I’ve heard about it.

    your little sis looks so like you!! I’ll be stealing the ABC for my blog!

    • Natalia permalink*
      February 26, 2011 12:05 pm

      The “banana thing” will change your life. I promise.

  4. February 26, 2011 12:46 pm

    I still have to do the ABCs. 🙂 I love that you made the soft serve. I still haven’t tried it. Fail.

  5. February 26, 2011 2:44 pm

    banana soft serve sounds great! fun list!

  6. February 26, 2011 3:45 pm

    we made banana soft serve last week a couple of times – the first time we threw in some PB and then added some chocolate chips and the second time we made banana mango! both were delicious but i really enjoyed the soft-serve more sans the add-ins. simplicity = deliciousness.

  7. February 26, 2011 6:50 pm

    this post has definately inspired me to make banana soft serve and i will definately had in some chocolate and maybe even almond butter!!!

    • Natalia permalink*
      February 26, 2011 7:29 pm

      Yes with the almond butter, for sure!

  8. February 27, 2011 11:00 pm

    I only started doing the banana soft serve two months ago. I usually top with chocolate chips, sometimes honey, granola, sprinkles, pb, white chocolate chips. Basically whatever I’m craving at the moment. It’s a perfect way to…eat toppings, you know?

  9. March 1, 2011 8:03 pm

    WOah, I’ve never even considered homemade banana softserve! How easy and tasty!
    I’m all over that.

  10. March 2, 2011 8:58 pm

    Haha I was so weirded out by the underwear question too :). I just avoided it pretty much!

Leave a Reply

