Skip to content

eye candy on display

February 23, 2011

I wasn’t completely honest with you in my last post.

Sure, there were tables and tables of great displays at the expo. Some were of cake balls, others of invitations and table settings.

(The one below was one of my favorites, especially because of the lantern. There’s something so homey and cottage-near-the-sea about it that I think is so elegant for a wedding or really any party setting.)

But I was holding out on you guys.

Because they also had this setup.

That would be a chocolate fountain overflowing of pure goodness.

I can’t even think about the amount of chocolate that ran through that thing. It was nonstop for hours and one of the most crowded booths. I had to whip out my name card and say I was on official show business in order to get a picture without 20 hands grappling for strawberries, marshmallows, s’mores, and cookies.

You do what you have to do, though.

Then I proceeded to test it out.

All in the line of duty, I say!

But it doesn’t stop there.

I didn’t even get to show you the cake displays yet.

I wouldn’t mind eating one or two out on this deck during the summer months. It’s prepped for winter now, but imagine how nice it looks in the summer all decorated with drapery and tables?

What do you think?

Those were just cupcakes.

That’s what they call a teaser.

Here are the real stars that rival those of the Food Network and all their fancy cake shows.

This one was one of my favorites.

If I ever had an event in the fall and a budget for a cake like this, I would definitely get one resembling this!

Check out that detail!

How adorable is this one? The cardinals are too cute and the perfect contrast to the white cake.

Perfect for a winter wedding!

This ocean themed cake was another of my favorites.

The details and colors just pop right off the cake.

I didn’t want you to have to go change into stretchy pants because your waistline expanded just from looking at these cake pictures, so I held off on posting all of them. Each was so unique and detailed.

Looking at them up close, though, really makes you appreciate all the hard work, time, and artistic creativity that goes into them.

Then again, sometimes I just want a piece of good old-fashioned birthday cake.

_________________

What would you rather have at a party, one of those “fashion” cakes or a chocolate fountain? I think I have to go with the chocolate fountain. I wouldn’t want to eat the cake!

Speaking of weddings and Newport’s nautical theme (it’s not called the City-By-The-Sea for nothing), if you could host a theme party, what would it be? I would like to have a 1920s themed party, or maybe a masquerade!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 10:07 am

    All of those cakes are so pretty. I would much rather have a fancy cake than a chocolate fountain.

  2. February 23, 2011 11:40 am

    i love how real the leaves and flowers look on those cakes!
    For my wedding cake (a wheat free carrot cake sweetened with stevia. it was heavenly) the baker used castings of real leaves to make the leaves on our cake (we got married in october, everything was in peak color) it was lovely. My husband works in a bakery with this cake decorator, so we got a super sweet deal on it !

  3. February 23, 2011 11:51 am

    What gorgeous cakes! The attention to detail is just amazing — so intricate and precise!! I think my favorite is the one with all the seashells 🙂

  4. February 23, 2011 4:46 pm

    I want the fancy cake and the chocolate fountain!!! Haha! My cousin had a fountain at his wedding, and it was the life of the party!

  5. February 23, 2011 7:25 pm

    oh my gosh how beautiful was that fall themed cake!? we did the chocolate fountain once but with young kids in the family it was SO messy. cake is my favorite – so i’ll go with that : ) we picked a fancy almond cake for our wedding coming up and i plan on having more than one piece…

  6. February 23, 2011 7:37 pm

    Let me eat cake!

  7. February 24, 2011 7:18 pm

    oh wow! look at all those cakes! I had my dream “theme” wedding – Spanish!

    • Natalia permalink*
      February 25, 2011 11:58 am

      Sounds fantastic! You should post pictures sometime, I would love to see them 🙂

Leave a Reply

