Skip to content

wedding extravaganza

February 21, 2011

This weekend I attended a Bridal Show at one of Newport’s finest wedding venues, OceanCliff. That’s one of the many views the venue allows right from the dining room.

(I know, right!?)

The magnificent used-to-be residential now operates as a hotel resort and an exquisite business/party/wedding location right on the water.

(source)

Not only are the views of the ocean incredible, though, but the food there is delicious and the service warm, inviting, and sure to make you feel at home.

(Disclosure: The views expressed are all my own. I am not nor have I ever been compensated for anything I write on my blog.)

Even though marriage isn’t on my radar or in my near future, it was still really fun and exciting to attend and look at all the venues from Newport. There were fashion shows, food tastings, dessert tables, photography booths, stationary exhibits, and many more vendors that showcased their services to help brides and grooms make their day everything they want it to be. The atmosphere was truly relaxing and enjoyable and I know if I were a bride-to-be it would be exactly the type of expo I would want to attend. It was also personally engaging for me because one of my closest cousins is getting married in June and both my sister and I are in her wedding party. It was a fun preview of the wedding-energy I know we’ll all be  a part of in the coming months!

Here are just a few snapshots of what went on.

There were two fashion shows and then mannequins set up with tuxedos and bridal gowns.

some really incredible photo displays

tables and tables of jewelry

towers of fine pastries and cookies

…and can we please talk about this cake ball extravaganza?

If my previous post  isn’t foreshadowing, I don’t know what is.

Unfortunately I couldn’t try any of them but I heard they were absolutely delicious and all different flavors.

What a neat idea for a wedding, though, or really any party. I’m not into the whole Italian pastry idea, but cake balls I’m sold on!

I also really liked looking at the invitation and save-the-date venue’s display. The variety was so neat and I’ve alway loved stationary.

It may go back to my whole Little Women obsession, but let’s not get into that.

And then I stumbled upon my favorite booth: Edible Arrangements.

Forget flowers. I’ve always wanted to receive a bouquet of these.

They even had trays of chocolate covered pears and apples with coconut, plain chocolate, cinnamon, and nuts.

The cinnamon was my favorite, followed closely by the nuts. I definitely want to try to replicate these!

This was pretty much a taste of heaven.

While everyone else was busy at the cake ball tower, I was chatting it up with the ladies at the Edible Arrangement’s booth and would you guess that one of the women actually went to my rival high school? We both grew up within a 10-mile radius of each other and somehow ended up talking about rivalry high school football games over a few pieces of chocolate covered pears, over 100 miles from home!

It was really a great show and I think really well-organized. The energy itself was exciting and I think it’s always fun to see couples planning their wedding.

But I do kind of wish I had that tray of chocolate covered fruit with me right now.

____________________

Have you ever been to an expo or trade show? What was it? This was my second time being at one. The first one was last fall and was a show put on exclusively by the venue itself, though it was another bridal show.

Would you ever go to a show even if you weren’t “in the market” for what it was showcasing? I think I would definitely go to another expo, even if it weren’t necessarily selling what I needed. I think it would be so fun to go to a home show or a garden expo. Or what about a food expo? Do they even do those? Because I would be all about that.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2011 10:36 am

    What a lovely venue! I’m from RI and Newport is such an awe-inspiring place. I used to love walking on the brick streets downtown.

  2. February 21, 2011 10:46 am

    WOW!!! All the cake balls look mouth-watering! I’ve never been to a show like this, but it seems like a ton of fun!

  3. February 21, 2011 4:34 pm

    Oh wow … that venue, that view! Talk about a fairytale place for a wedding!!

  4. February 21, 2011 8:17 pm

    What amazing photographs!! Since I am planning my wedding right now, it was so much fun to look at these photo. I spend way too much time flipping through bridal magazines, although I haven’t yet gone to an expo, despite getting free tickets.

  5. February 22, 2011 12:45 pm

    Bridal trade shows always have such fun stuff to look at. And yummy stuff to eat. 😀

  6. February 23, 2011 11:22 am

    Ah! This is so fun! I totally would have gone with you 🙂 Next Bridal Expo, I am so there. I think you should definitely recreate the cake balls with nuts and cinnamon. Those look amazing. And I LOVE the cupcake with the anchor on it. Super, super cute.

  7. February 25, 2011 11:34 am

    I love expos/trade shows, but mostly I love wedding expos. I went to them before I was married and I patiently waiting for more of my friends to get engaged so that I can go to more!

    I love wedding ckaes, I designed mine, and I’ve been known to make them for friends/family- it’s such a great art.

Trackbacks

  1. eye candy on display « A Side of Simple
  2. no-rain shower « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

