Skip to content

not-so-thin mint cake balls

February 18, 2011

I’m not into making false promises. I do promise you, though, that with a little bit of Girl Scout cookie inspiration in the kitchen, your serving plate will look just like the photo below.

Except maybe there won’t be crumbs.

Actually, I pretty much guarantee there won’t be crumbs.

_______________

These really are nothing new and I can’t take credit for them. You’ve more than seen your fair share of “cake balls” gracing the computer screens and maybe even rolling around on your plate.  They’re just as easy to make as the next batch and involve getting your hands dirty with chocolate. (…I didn’t think you would object).

If you’re anything like me, you’re a fan of Girl Scout cookies. I was a proud Girl Scout for many years and vividly remember begging my mom to take me around town and to neighborhoods to sell boxes. Of course, we always stocked up our house, too. And then there were those times when I may or may not have actually delivered boxes to people because the siblings and I ended up eating them…(you collect the money when you deliver).

Mom was never too happy when she learned of our additional “purchases.”

But let’s get back to business.

Thin Mints and Samoas were always my favorite flavors. I decided, though, that I wasn’t waiting for the troops to set up camp outside the nearest grocery store.  And then there’s the whole gluten thing that’s a little inconvenient.

I took matters into my own hands. With a little help from some distressed gluten-free chocolate cake, some mint extract, and Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips, I was well on my way to achieving that rich, fresh Thin Mint taste. Here’s the rundown:

_______________

Not-So-Thin Mint Cake Balls

-chocolate cake (brownies may also work)

-pure mint extract

-semi-sweet chocolate chips

—-Crumble and break up your chocolate cake and mold into small balls. Place on a cookie sheet and freeze for about 10 minutes for the shape to harden. Melt in a double broiler (or you could use a microwave and just melt in increments) semi-sweet chocolate chips with a few drops of mint extract mixed in. Feel free to taste to determine how much mint taste you want. (Great technique, this taste as you go thing). When your chocolate is melted to a good consistency, roll your cake balls in the chocolate so that each one is evenly covered. Let cool on wax paper.


I highly recommend using semi-sweet chocolate to get that Thin Mint coating taste, but I’m sure white chocolate or milk chocolate would be just as delectable!

You could be daring and try to take them somewhere as a nice gift or contribution to the dessert table.

Or you could be realistic and just eat them yourself.

Because isn’t that what everyone does when it comes to hoarding those treasures-that-be (not to mention a little bit pricey) Girl Scout cookies?

That’s what I thought. On to the crumbs…

_______________

Have you jumped on the cake ball bandwagon yet? I think there should be a cake ball creation for every Girl Scout cookie.

Were you ever a Girl Scout? For nine years I was a proud member of Troop 447. Some of my favorite childhood memories are from Girl Scouts!

What’s your favorite Girl Scout cookie? Samoas and Thin Mints all the way.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 10:37 am

    I haven’t made cake balls yet, but they all look so good.
    My favorite girl scout cookies were tagalongs and samoas.

  2. February 18, 2011 12:38 pm

    Those look so, so, SO ridiculously good. I’m copying down your recipe so I can try it for myself!

    Hmm, favorite Girl Scout cookies. If I had to choose just one, it would be Thin Mints, but I also love Tagalongs. I was a Girl Scout for two years (a bad experience involving me accidentally dripping hot glue all over my hand kinda scared me away from them after that, as ridiculous as that reasoning sounds), and there was a kind back then called Chalet Cremes that I also loved 🙂

  3. February 18, 2011 12:57 pm

    I used to be a Girl Scout haha! Thin Mints are the best cookies ever! And your cake balls look so yummy!! I’d eat them all!

  4. February 18, 2011 2:53 pm

    SAMOSAS! but we dont get GS cookies anyways over here.. love these- they look so tasty!

  5. February 20, 2011 11:38 am

    I am now on the cake ball kick, courtesy of this post. =D

    I was a Brownie and made it to Girl Scouts then quit.

    Favorite cookies: Samoas and Tagalongs all the way!!!

  6. February 21, 2011 5:06 pm

    Oh my. I will definitely be making these!!!!

  7. February 25, 2011 11:39 am

    My favorites are thin mints and somoas! I can’t wait to try this recipe out, I made red velvet balls for valentine’s day and they were a hit! I’m also going to need to come up with a somoas cake ball- now I’m craving girl scout cookies!

    • Natalia permalink*
      February 25, 2011 11:56 am

      Samoa cake balls? Um, yes please!!

Trackbacks

  1. wedding extravaganza « A Side of Simple
  2. abc’s and banana cream « A Side of Simple
  3. a far flashback friday « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

