Skip to content

simple pleasures

February 14, 2011
tags:

Sidenote: I may have overdosed on these this weekend. No big deal.

I can explain.

I decided to make an impromptu trip home this weekend. True, next weekend is Presidents’ Day weekend and there’s going to be a family celebration going on in NY, but I have an intern event and won’t be able to make it. The next time I’ll be able to get home won’t be until spring break and I know my family can’t survive that long without seeing my face.

They may not know that fact, but I don’t hold it against them or let it stop me from proclaiming it a fact.

Turns out it was a good thing I went home. I ended up getting pretty sick with some 24 hour infection. And who doesn’t want their mom and dad, along with some sibling sympathy when they don’t feel good?

That’s what I thought.

_______________________

While I didn’t feel well and was buried with boxes of tissues, assignments, and my laptop, I still took pleasure in a few simple things this weekend.

Lo and behold some homey comforts:

(You already know about the affair with Halls).

1. I debated doing homework. Then I sneezed one too many times and couldn’t remember what I was debating. I headed to the cookbook nook and passed the time reading through recipes, staring at pictures, and hoarding the tissue box.

2. Mom stocked the house with bananas. She knows how much I love them. She also knows my brothers only like to eat bananas when I’m home and want one, too. Weird, right?

3. I was looking through the freezer trying to find an icepack for my head and I found some treasures that, even though my head felt like it was floating on the ceiling, made me want to jump in excitement. Hidden under some venison steaks (!?) was my beloved peanut flour and Katz Gluten Free bread. Between my headache flying me high and these two beauties, I thought I was in Heaven.

4. Forget about that last statement. If peanut flour and GF bread were enough to get me excited in my state of sickness, imagine how enamored I was with life itself when I found a leftover hunk of my birthday cake from December. I completely forgot I froze it. No one can say I don’t think ahead, right?

You bet I ate it. I needed something in my stomach after all those Halls.  

5. Any weekend that leaves you bringing back a couple of bags of groceries complements of the parentals is a success in my book.



_______________________

Sickness or no, it was a good weekend. And I was reminded that comfort comes in many forms.

I just prefer mine bathed in icing.

_______________________

When you visit your parents, do you usually end up leaving with some form of food? Yes. Whether she gives me leftovers or a few groceries, Mom always assures me I’m her favorite in this manner. At least that’s how I view it.

What’s one comfort that you’ve enjoyed recently? That leftover piece of birthday cake really tops my list. Of course, my own bed was a nice change, but it felt even better getting into bed after eating my cake.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 10:33 am

    Man, the whole blogger world is getting sick!!! I totally have foods I only eat when I go home. I love them when I’m there but then don’t want them again. I figure it’s the same with your brothers wanting bananas when you’re around!

  2. February 14, 2011 1:21 pm

    AHH yuck sorry you got sick!!!! so many ppl are GETTING SICK >> WHAT IS THIS! ahahah compliments of the parentals.. i will take ANYTIME

  3. February 14, 2011 2:49 pm

    That stinks that you were sick!! Feel better!! I’ve been eating dark chocolate chips lately. Such a delicious, sweet comfort food!

    • Natalia permalink*
      February 15, 2011 7:38 pm

      Those are just what I need to get my energy back 🙂

  4. February 14, 2011 3:54 pm

    feel better!!

  5. February 14, 2011 7:41 pm

    I hope you’re feeling better!!

  6. February 15, 2011 12:45 pm

    sounds like you are gonna make it through this cold! 😉
    I hear that bananas, halls, and birthday cake are the perfect cure for the sniffles.

    • Natalia permalink*
      February 15, 2011 7:37 pm

      That’s exactly what I say! What better cure?

  7. DiningAndDishing permalink
    February 15, 2011 5:23 pm

    best part of going home is the food! the food you can eat there, the food they will take you out for, the food you take back home :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  8. February 15, 2011 7:26 pm

    I just found your blog and I absolutely love it,

    I agree completely, I live too far away from parents to go home often but I would if I could. Ha I may never move out.

    • Natalia permalink*
      February 15, 2011 7:37 pm

      Thank you so much, Hollie! I’m so happy you found it, too, because now I’m stalking yours. Homework? Oh, that will just have to wait… I have some catching up to do!

  9. February 15, 2011 10:01 pm

    Feel better girlfriend. There are lots of nasty bugs out there right now ; /

    I’ve been eating peanut butter filled pretzels from TJ’s lately. I don’t know why – but I can’t stop. They.are.soooo.goood! My mom is very similar to yours – it must be an instinctual thing. I’ll come home and she’ll have a whole batch of my favorite soup frozen for me or a load of groceries waiting in the fridge. Moms are the best : )

  10. February 15, 2011 10:04 pm

    Feel better! I am still eating Saturday night’s Valentine’s Day chocolate mousse cake! I think I’ll be licking the plate clean tonight!

  11. February 16, 2011 1:47 pm

    Sounds like a good weekend to get sick…if there is such a thing. 😉 And finding cake? That’s like finding gold in my book. 😀

Trackbacks

  1. eye candy on display « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

