Skip to content

a blog conversation

February 10, 2011

I have a runner on my blog header.

“Living life one mile” at a time is the first part of my subtitle.  

Since I was young I have been actively engaged in sports, fitness, and my own routine.

I workout or exercise 5 to 6 days each week.

(So this justifies my online stalking of Lululemon, right?

(Source)

I claim this is a healthy living/ wellness blog.

But then I don’t post what my daily workouts are, how I exercise, or what my regimen is.

Recently I received a question about this and why I don’t post what I do.

So here are my thoughts on the subject.

A Side of Simple” is my blog of my own living and aspirations to a balanced, healthy life. This could never equate to just how many calories are burned on the treadmill, whether or not I had too many spoonfuls of Nutella last night, or whether or not I had vegetables at all this weekend (week?).

Instead it’s my daily living. It’s how I conduct and present myself in public and in my personal life. It’s how many breaths I take to appreciate the special moments. It’s the time I spend cherishing the company of family and friends (in-person and virtual).

Also, running and “one mile at a time” apply to life in general, not just fitness. Whether it’s the miles I’ve traveled from one country to another, or the miles figuratively I run, walk, (crawl : i.e. pub crawl anyone?) each day, they are the miles that make up my personal journey.

I think that some bloggers and readers may get to comparing themselves too much to others or thinking, “well, so and so is training for this so I better train for this, too.” Or maybe thinking, “I better cut back on this,” etc. The list goes on and on. While one way it can work as inspiration or motivation, it can also play a part in self-scrutiny. This also goes for food and posting daily meals. I don’t post either because I don’t feel they are necessary for my blog nor are they what it is based around.

I’m in no way critiquing what others post. I love reading about every mile Janae’s tacks onto her life. I practically drool over Kath’s meal photos, which make me want to buy every bowl and place mat I see. I love following bloggers through their training schedules and reading their food diaries.

It’s just not a part of my blog.

We’re all part of the same “strive for a healthy life” party.

We all just celebrate in our own way.

_______________

 

What are your thoughts on the subject (both posting daily meals, daily miles, etc.)?

 

Do each of your posts follow a specific pattern or standard? Each one of posts are different. Some may be a recipe, others a random profession of my love for Cracker Barrel, and others just a recap of what I’ve been up to. It’s all a part of life, though, and for me about celebrating the simple things. Oh, and let’s not forget about clothes.

What is your posting style? It really depends on my mood and what I want to share. I love so many different blogs and their style. The best part is that no two could ever be exactly alike!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 10:58 am

    I think each blogger should do what feels right for them. I like to post my workouts for myself. That way, I can track things better and look back at various weeks. In terms of healthy eating, I post meals every once in a while, but definitely not even close to everything I eat…that would be so boring! Haha! I think your blog is great, and you should always write about what’s on your mind at that time. Don’t try to fit into a mold. Unique is great, and your blog is both! 🙂

  2. February 10, 2011 11:49 am

    I LOVE this post and your response to the question. So true and so true to yourself! I think blogs are overall fantastic, great ways to meet others, feel part of a community and get new ideas – but like anything else, they can cause comparison and self-criticism. I love how your blog is true to how you want to share your life and I hope mine is similar for my path too. I post somewhere along the lines of what you do – recipe, trip, thoughts, working out, physical health, prevention, mental health, family, etc. I think it works for me where I am right now. Love this post – and you!

  3. February 10, 2011 1:13 pm

    mmmm in n out is my kryptonite

  4. February 10, 2011 1:17 pm

    how boring would it be if everyone posted every single meal and every single calorie they burned? all blogs would just turn into a mish-mash of the same thing, which would cause them to lose their appeal and their specialness. i love reading your blog because it’s a little unpredictable and keeps all of us on our toes. we know what you like to post about – we just never know if we’re going to get a recipe, a thought, family stuff or the like. stay true to yourself and your blog will grow with you.

    has posting questions at the bottom of your posts help to get to know your readers a little bit more? i’ve thought about doing it, but i haven’t yet.

  5. February 10, 2011 2:39 pm

    Well, I’m not a healthy living blogger (in fact, I’m just about the pickiest eater ever), so recipes, exercise, and the like don’t have any kind of constant presence in what I write, other than the occasional milkshake comment 😉 My posts are generally based around writing or reading in some form, but not always. Beyond that, though, I have to agree with you completely. Every blog is unique. Every writer is unique. Every person is unique. That’s what makes the blog world – and life in general – so much fun. Variety and diversity let us get a glimpse into so many different people and their passions. What can be better than that?

    I love your blog – it’s the perfect blend of everything that makes you who you are!

  6. February 10, 2011 4:20 pm

    You are adorable.

    Christina.

  7. February 12, 2011 11:26 am

    I definitely agree that each blogger has their own unique style that works for them! I love the way you run your site and you should never change it for anyone but yourself! =)

  8. February 12, 2011 4:15 pm

    I prefer it when people don’t do everything they eat all day, it gets so boring to me! I like a big mixture, reading posts with a lesson or meaning, adventures, and some recipes and workouts thrown in.

  9. February 13, 2011 8:11 am

    I think each blog should be different because each blogger is different!

Leave a Reply

