Skip to content

trisha’s cabbage + sausage dish

January 31, 2011

Trisha didn’t exactly come to my rescue this weekend. I guess it’s ok. She does have four other children and a husband. Oh, and her own life.

Though I am kind of her favorite.

What also may have made up for it was the fact that she sent me back to school with some leftovers of her tasty kitchen creations. After it was pretty clear she wasn’t going to teleport right over (come on…that Cracker Barrel invite was tempting, admit it) I promptly took out one of her containers from the freezer and defrosted it for dinner. Smelling the aroma of her cooking made me forgive her, even though I was still playing the “but don’t you love me anymore, mom!?” card.

By the last bite (err, last lick. Who doesn’t lick their plate when they’re alone?)I pulled myself together and decided to share a little love.

(Psst. It’s my number one request when she asks me what I would like her to cook for me.)

*Just for disclosure, she got the recipe from a magazine years ago. Not sure which one though.  

______________

Trisha’s Cabbage + Sausage Dish

(serves 4)

Main Attraction:

-1 head of cabbage

-1 red onion

-1 pound of sausage (We use chicken sausage. Dad doesn’t know this fact. He devours this dish everytime.)

-about 1 tablespoon of white wine vinegar

-oil (I highly recommend Garlic Gold)

-pasta (She covers pasta with the sausage + cabbage dish for my dad. I prefer to eat it plain or on top of a salad.)

On Hand:

-salt + pepper + water

Directions:

1. Remove the sausage from the castings and dice the sausage or crumble it into chunks. Which technique you use depends on the consistency of your sausage (chicken, pork, etc.) Add some oil to a skillet, heat, and pour sausage in. Cook until browned, continuing to break up the larger chunks with a spoon if necessary. Set aside.

2. Slice and chop your onion and cabbage into thin pieces. In another skillet, heat oil and add cabbage and onions. Add about 3 tablespoons of water to mix and then cover. Let cook until tender, about 8 minutes, stirring throughout. Add cabbage to skillet as it cooks down if you cannot fit it all at the same time.

3. Remove from heat when cabbage and onions are done cooking and add the sausage to the skillet. Season with salt and pepper and stir in vinegar.

4. If you are using pasta, cook according to box directions and mix with the prepared cabbage and sausage. Add salt and pepper to your liking, though I highly suggest some grated parmesan cheese.

A little dusting gives just the right bite.

Enjoy!

P.S. Thanks, Mom.

______________

Question: What’s the number one dish you request for someone to make, whether it be your Mom, Dad, friend, significant other, etc.? I always ask my mom to make me this, plus her spinach balls. I can’t stand spinach by itself but they are seriously addicting. I always have some stashed in my freezer!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 7:17 am

    My grandma makes this amazing broccoli and cheese casserole that only makes an appearance at Christmas time. Last year she gave me the recipe so I can recreate it, but it’s totally not the same. I want some spinach balls now!

    • Natalia permalink*
      February 1, 2011 8:09 pm

      I’ve never had broccoli and cheese casserole, which means something is wrong in my life because those are two of my favorite foods!

  2. February 1, 2011 5:36 pm

    That looks amazing!! Seriously, I am drooling! I always request my mom to make me lasagna….mmmmh!

    • Natalia permalink*
      February 1, 2011 8:10 pm

      Lasagna! That “was” a favorite before I had to go gluten-free. It’s just not the same with gluten-free noodles! I drown my sorrows in extra cheese, though, and extra dessert. (Well, some call it extra. I call it normal).

  3. shortystylee permalink
    February 1, 2011 6:22 pm

    I grew up at my Grandma’s house and there were so many things she cooked that I miss now out on my own 😦 She made an awesome roast beef with homemade gravy… the best part was heated up the next day with gravy over oven-baked French fries.

    Jessica

    • Natalia permalink*
      February 1, 2011 8:11 pm

      That sounds so great right now.. you have no idea.

  4. bakebooks permalink
    February 1, 2011 7:33 pm

    Thank you so much for still coming to my blog and your amazing comments!

    I’ve never tried chicken sausage before…I don’t think I would know where to get it! But it sure sounds perfect for me 🙂

    When I used to go home years ago, I always requested a dish called “Ship-Wreck”. It’s like a casserole made with layers of carrots, potatoes, mixed vegetables like peas and green beans. Then an amazing layer of ground beef goes on top with ketchup or sauce…kind of like a meatloaf on vegetables 😉

    Or like a shepherd’s pie but with the beef as the topping! I guess they called it shipwreck because it was upside down?…that just occurred to me actually hah! Or because it was just a “mess of veggies and meat” . Either way it was GOOD!

    I also always requested BANANA BREAD! Nothing like Mom’s 😉

    • Natalia permalink*
      February 1, 2011 8:11 pm

      This comment is too funny. I love when I’m writing about something and midway I’m like “Oh!!” 🙂

  5. February 1, 2011 9:13 pm

    This look deeeeelicious! And I love that fact that your dad didn’t know it was chicken sausage – we have to do that with my dad too. Most of the time he catches us in the act though!

    My grandma makes the world’s best homemade cinnamon rolls. Seriously, I don’t know what she does, but the neighbors flock when they smell it.

  6. February 2, 2011 9:54 am

    This looks awesome! My dad makes an awesome prime rib, so that’s always my number one request!

  7. February 2, 2011 12:26 pm

    This is silly but up into my 20s my requested food from my mom was always pigs in a blanket. Tiny cocktail weiners in crescent rolls. Haha. they are the best and remind me of home. But then I stopped eating meat… drat.

    • Natalia permalink*
      February 2, 2011 12:37 pm

      This made me laugh 🙂 You need a “pigs” replacement!

  8. February 2, 2011 5:33 pm

    This meal looks great! I get cabbage a lot in my weekly CSA produce box and am always looking for new ways to use it. I try to eat vegetarian most of the time, but I do really like chicken sausage!

  9. February 3, 2011 12:58 pm

    I make a request every single time I go home, which is less often now that I live 3,000 miles away. However, I love my dad’s chili (http://lapetitepancake.wordpress.com/2010/12/12/dads-badass-chili/), my mom’s Jezebel sauce, my dad’s stuffing, and my mom’s pot roast.
    Basically, I love everything they make. I’m not sure if it’s because they are good cooks or if it’s simply for the memories and the love.

Trackbacks

  1. no-rain shower « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

