Skip to content

enjoy today

January 24, 2011

Here’s a bit of a confession for you. Christmas break can be stressful.

No, I didn’t have any assignments that were essentially due.

Yes, I could spend the night cuddling with my mom and spending time with my family,

Sure, there was a constant heat source that I could nestle up next to and read the afternoon away near (we have a wood-burning stove).

Of course, Trisha’s kitchen was adequately stocked.

Why the stress?

Holidays mean family and friends get together. This translates to conversation and catching up. Small talk then quickly turns to questions. Lots and lots of repeated questions that involve the words future, graduation, and career.

The truth is, there’s no way for me to know what I’ll be doing come May, come September, come 2012. I don’t even know what I’m going to have for dinner tonight! [That’s a bad example. I love planning what I’m going to eat for dinner before I even have breakfast. I do not know what I’m going to wear tomorrow.]

I don’t know exactly where I want to be.

I definitely don’t know where God wants me to be.

It’s not that I’m not thinking about it constantly, researching jobs, reading descriptions and scoping out possibilities.

On the other hand, I just want to finish senior year.

(I think the item below would make the above statement pretty easy, don’t you? Don’t answer that one.)

One of my good friends told me to make sure I enjoy my last semester. I didn’t need her to tell me this, really, but it helps a lot to remember her saying this.

A weekend of spending time talking with friends, catching up on reading my favorite blogs, texting family members for hours, and getting in some gym time for study breaks is just the kind of weekend I enjoy.

Of course, eating some birthday cake and cake balls doesn’t hurt for a little balance, right?

___________

What’s one thing you enjoyed this weekend? I really enjoyed some quite time I had just to myself amidst everything else.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2011 10:40 am

    I enjoyed ice skating this weekend!

    Your friend is right – enjoy it before you’re “out there.” And pre-congrats!

  2. January 24, 2011 12:59 pm

    The last semester of college is such a whirlwind of emotions. In the end, though, it’s so important to do exactly what your friend said – enjoy every moment, soak it all in. The uncertainty of the future is so scary and intimidating (you know, I don’t think that ever changes, no matter what point you’re at in life), but try to think of it this way … you may not know exactly where you’ll end up, but that just means you have even more possibilities out there waiting for you 🙂

    Hmm, and one thing I enjoyed … I’ll go with finishing the book I started last week. There’s nothing like escaping into the pages for awhile!

  3. January 24, 2011 5:12 pm

    This weekend I enjoyed being able to sleep in a little. I’ve been having early mornings, so getting extra rest was much needed.

  4. January 24, 2011 9:54 pm

    I totally remember that time – and your friend is absolutely right. Enjoy it because it goes by so fast! The rest will happen in time and doesn’t need to be figured out NOW.

    I was actually in Newport this weekend and we had so much fun! I posted pictures of the beach with snow on it. Very cool.

    Side note, my boyfriend’s cousin goes to Salve and I keep wanting her to pop up in your pictures, ha! I’m sure you know her, it’s not a huge school or anything.

  5. January 25, 2011 3:03 pm

    aw; so sweet! I love this post

  6. January 26, 2011 7:51 am

    Girl, you are beautiful! I LOVED this post! It really is so stressful to try and figure out what to do for the rest of your life and especially to figure out what god wants you to do but it will all work out:)
    Yes, the sleepover will happen and when we get up to pee we will go eat ice cream too:)

  7. January 27, 2011 10:08 am

    This weekend I enjoyed lots of spontaneous moments with my friends. They’re always interesting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

