Skip to content

rice krispie treat for one

January 12, 2011

I’m a sure fan of Rice Krispie treats.

They were always a childhood favorite and one of those treats that ALWAYS tasted better homemade than from the package (read: Rice Krispie individually sold treats). I would even pretend that my bowl of rice krispies was really a bowl of rice krispie treats and that the milk was really melted marshmallows. This might have made them taste just a little bit better than usual.

The reality is, though, that they’re also kind of a handful to make.

First there’s the watching the butter melt so it doesn’t burn, then there’s the pouring in the rice krispies and the marshmallows and trying to mix them all together with a wooden spoon that survived previously spanking a child.

Oh yes, we broke numerous spoons. Mom has quite the snap to her wrist, might I add. Don’t worry. My brothers and sisters and I turned out the better for it.

And we all learned to really appreciate wooden spoons for their multiple uses.

Another factor that contributes to rice krispie treats being a bit of a handful isn’t even in their production process, though.

You see, if there’s a batch I’ll eat it. It’s one of those foods that I categorize with Smartfood White Cheddar Popcorn. Absolutely addicting. I don’t even consider myself responsible for what happens when these kinds of foods are around me.

Why not eat them all? There are worse foods I could be eating.

You’ll be glad to hear that this recipe requires no open flame (thanks, Mom, for melting my favorite plate with the individual serving portions that one time…), no wooden spoons (they’re all broken anyway), and no messy clean-up (who wants to scrape the bowl? key word: scrape, not lick).

You’ll also be glad to hear that this doesn’t require you to muster up all the self-control you just don’t want to have to find.

It’s late, it’s time for dessert, you have a sweet tooth. Let it be done already.

First things first.

(Almost) Immediate Satisfaction Single Serve Rice Krispie Treat

Go to the pantry and grab:

-Rice Krispie cereal

-Marshmallows (I’m sure that opened bag of leftovers from the fourth of July are still good)

-Non-stick cooking spray

+ Spray a small microwave safe bowl with your non-stick cooking spray. Measure out 1/2 cup of rice krispie cereal into your bowl. Place 2 big marshmallows on top. Grab a handful of chocolate chips and continue to gobble them up.

Wait. What?

These were hiding next to the marshmallows. I wasn’t about to let them face the haunting fate of “who knows how long these have been in here!?” so I saved them. A handful in my mouth here, a few added to the mix, you know how it goes.

Then place your bowl in the microwave for 15 seconds. When it’s done, check it out to make sure it’s not exploding (this may force Mom to break out a wooden spoon…kidding…sort of). Then place back in for another 15 seconds. This time when you take it out your marshmallows should be at a melted consistency, which is perfect for easy stirring. Stir it up while it’s hot! Once it’s all mixed thoroughly it will be easy to use the spoon and push the mix together so you can form a patty.

You can wait for the patty to harden. Or if you’re like me, you’ll make sure you sneak in some bite while it’s still all hot and gooey and melted.

It may not look too pretty, but trust me on this one. It’s a rice krispie treat that will make your heart stop because you can have it in under 5-minutes.

It also goes perfectly with some hot chocolate and a movie. And since you didn’t make a whole batch, you don’t have to worry about the stretchy pants thing.

Who even worries about that? Especially when cereal is involved?

____________

Do you usually follow dinner with dessert? I always do. I limit my sweet intake during the day and always look forward to something sweet to finish off my day!

What’s one of your go-to desserts that you grab when you’re craving something sweet? This one for sure is added to my list!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2011 11:29 am

    mmm I love rice krispy treats– this is fab to have a treat for one!

  2. January 12, 2011 3:36 pm

    We are meant to be best friends!! That is the best idea I have ever seen. I will be making that asap. I ALWAYS have dessert after I eat!! I have to…even breakfast. I love this idea…rice krispie treats are the best.
    Yes to MKA videos with lots of food. Glad you like Cracker Barrel too.

    • Natalia permalink*
      January 13, 2011 12:27 pm

      Since there is virtually no butter in these, they’re healthy. Actually, let’s not even count them as dessert. Totally acceptable for breakfast.

  3. January 12, 2011 3:55 pm

    oh my gosh- this is DELCIOUS! no joke

  4. January 12, 2011 4:06 pm

    Hmm…this looks good. I have to say, I always liked Golden Graham treats. I think I will steal the method…..

    • Natalia permalink*
      January 13, 2011 12:25 pm

      Golden Grahams are a perfect alternative!

  5. January 12, 2011 4:35 pm

    Loooooove rice krispies and nothing compares to fresh ones!!!!!

  6. January 12, 2011 5:18 pm

    Oh I love the idea of single serve rice crispy treats! I hate making a whole batch, because it’s usually me eating it all!
    Also, I nominated you on my blog! Check my post out later to see the award you won 🙂

    • Natalia permalink*
      January 13, 2011 12:29 pm

      Thanks, Kristisn!

  7. January 12, 2011 9:48 pm

    Rice Krispy treats are my favorite!! Love how I can make one for just me instead a whole pan 🙂

    • Natalia permalink*
      January 13, 2011 12:31 pm

      There’s honestly NO clean-up, too. A perfect quick snack for your daughter and her playdates! Or let’s be honest, for you 🙂

  8. January 13, 2011 12:30 am

    Not only does it take less than 5 minutes, but it also has chocolate chips??? Incredible. Winner winner chicken dinner

    • Natalia permalink*
      January 13, 2011 12:33 pm

      Chocolate chips are only the beginning… 😉

  9. January 13, 2011 9:20 am

    That’s such a good idea!! I’m totally trying this ASAP! Good work! 🙂

  10. January 13, 2011 12:59 pm

    oh my lord did you just make my day…. i think this might be what i much on this weekend especially if my football team loses in the playoffs i need some comforting! love it!!!

  11. January 13, 2011 4:25 pm

    Love the addition of chocolate chips!

  12. January 14, 2011 5:28 pm

    i want one. now.

  13. January 15, 2011 11:53 am

    okay, this is TOO CLEVER! im positive i saw gluten free marshmallows, oh my i NEED to make one for myself! saving this post for some future snackage!!! ❤

  14. January 15, 2011 2:10 pm

    I always need a dessert with dinner or lunch; my sweet tooth is huge.
    I need to learn more individual dessert recipes like this. I tend to make way too much. At least that’s not a bad problem to have.

  15. January 15, 2011 3:29 pm

    Oh, this is going to be a dangerous recipe for me to know!!

  16. January 16, 2011 4:27 pm

    That looks delicious. Love the addition of chocolate chips!

  17. January 16, 2011 5:18 pm

    YUM!

    I made Choco-Chip Graham Cracker “Smores” Muffins before – but with no marshmallows! Still tasted awesome.

    I loved the Rice Krispie Christmas edition they had over the Holidays with the Red and Green – I bought them just because they were colored and festive 🙂

  18. Jenn permalink
    January 17, 2011 11:14 pm

    I love this idea! The only thing is, one time I attempted to make a whole pan of rice krispies without butter. They were not good and too dry. Is this one dry, just like eating regular rice krispies?

    • Natalia permalink*
      January 18, 2011 12:23 pm

      Hi Jenn! I didn’t find it dry, especially with a few chocolate chips mixed in. I’m sure you could add a little bit of butter, though. It’s a portion control serving, so if you add in your own bit of butter you can still control it plenty without having to worry about a whole pan. Let me know what you think!

  19. January 20, 2011 9:49 am

    I love making them with the kids. There’s something so playful about these sticky treats 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. live and blog your style « A Side of Simple
  2. wishlist wednesday « A Side of Simple
  3. a far flashback friday « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

