Skip to content

on the bookshelf: sort of part III

January 5, 2011

“Over Christmas break, I’m going to read all the books I’ve been thinking about this semester but felt guilty reading since I had other work to do.”

You could have quoted me on that.

With my being home for break and all and currently not being employed for the (now dwindling) weeks I’m home, you would think I had plenty of time on my hands.

Time to play in the kitchen, time to sleep the morning away, time to blog, time to catch up on blogs…

This is not the case.

Sure, I’m crazy busy during the semester with work, internships, classes, assignments, and attempts at socializing, but home I’m just as busy. It may be in a different, less-stressful way, but I’m still going like the energizer bunny and come 8pm, left wondering where the day went and deciding what I should eat for dinner from Trisha’s refrigerator.

My days have been consumed with visiting family, catching up with friends, (sometimes) exercising here and there, driving siblings around, helping my parents, etc.

Numerous trips have been made to Starbucks to help accomplish these missions.

Not that I’m complaining at all. I love being home and I’m more than happy to spend my hours doing such things.

The calendar shows my days of break are dwindling, though, and I have yet to get to the library.

Today’s mission:

1) Get to the library.

2) Check out the two books I’ve been aching to read.

3) Set aside time for reading. (Directions to a friend’s house to pick up a sibling DO NOT count.)

__________

Top on my reading list for the remaining days of Christmas break are Mockingjay and Clockwork Angel.

I’ve been loyal fans of both The Hunger Games books and The Mortal Instruments books since they first hit shelves. I’m proud to say I have a knack for being an original fan of some pretty popular series. By this I mean I’ve read the first book before the second was even in production.

The Twilight series? You bet I read Twilight in 2005. Yes, that also means I often have to wait a while for the next book to come out, but clearly that’s not a problem for me when class assignments or siblings are calling me up for duty.

Speaking of duty, I better get started on my mission before the morning gets away from me.

__________

What books are on your must-read list? Please share your recommendations!

New? Catch up with On the Bookshelf I & On the Bookshelf: School Edition!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 1:09 pm

    MOCKING JAY is amazing…..we should have a book club about it! So happy you are enjoying your time off….those sound like the perfect days to me. I was NOT kidding about MK and A OLSEN….and I love that you brought up the ‘you’re invited’ movie!! LOVE IT!! Hope you are having a great day!

  2. January 5, 2011 3:26 pm

    One of the best things about break is getting to read for pleasure! Both of these books sound great, hope you enjoy them!

  3. January 5, 2011 9:14 pm

    Oh gosh, I think I have too many on my must-read list to narrow it down! Have you ever read anything by Emily Giffin? She’s my favorite author, and her novels are just addicting 🙂

  4. January 6, 2011 2:05 am

    this book called Half the Sky!!

  5. January 6, 2011 4:51 pm

    I have trouble finding time to read too! But I just read the kind diet and really liked it. Hope you can find some ‘you’ time.

  6. January 7, 2011 3:14 pm

    I just finished The Hunger Games Triology. Great books!!!

  7. bakebooks permalink
    January 7, 2011 4:18 pm

    Thank you for coming to my blog! I Love anything to do with books 🙂 It’s my dream to be able to work at Starbucks…but now as a Barista. No, I want to sit down, drink coffee, eat scones, read books and write, write, write…it can happen right? Totalllllllllly feasible.

    😉

  8. January 8, 2011 11:33 am

    I’m intrigued by The Hunger Games books. I keep hearing about them.

    And isn’t it crazy how busy we can be no matter what?

  9. January 8, 2011 2:12 pm

    i always use the library too! i’m too cheap to buy a new book when I read them in just a matter of weeks

  10. January 8, 2011 2:36 pm

    I love reading, but always feel like I need to be doing something else with my time while I’m doing it. I’m with you on setting aside time to read!

  11. January 8, 2011 3:34 pm

    I checked out a couple Joyce Carole Oates books from my library – I really need to get crackin’ on reading those! She’s my favorite author – all of her fiction is amazing!

  12. January 8, 2011 5:44 pm

    I haven’t read a single book over school vacation yet and I don’t think I’ll get to one. Oh well, does Food Network Magazine count? Because I read that cover to back. Haha

  13. January 9, 2011 6:27 pm

    I’ve never actually heard of either of those books! They look good though. I second what a previous commenter said about Emily Giffin. She has some very unique books and has a great way of making you sympathize with a character you wouldn’t normally like. Also, I love Francine Rivers – she has a couple new books out but I havne’t had a chance to read them yet. I got one for my grandma for Christmas and she loved it!

    • January 10, 2011 9:47 am

      Thanks for the recommendations! I’ve never read any of either author’s books, but I just checked some out on Amazon and I’m excited!

Trackbacks

  1. snowed in, venture out « A Side of Simple
  2. on the bookshelf: the help « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

