Skip to content

i didn’t go to brussels

January 3, 2011

I rang in 2011 with a laid back affair consisting of some chocolates being consumed (some being a subjective term in this case…), some time spent relaxing with my parents and little sister, and a lot of bites of some great new additions to my food palette.

I’m getting a little ahead of myself here.

I was just so excited at the taste of this chocolate. Dark chocolate with an orange cream filling is a mixture pretty close to my heart. I’m usually not a fan of fruit desserts or fruity tasting chocolate mixtures, but there’s something very classic about the orange citrus cream and dark chocolate.

________

Even though it’s never a bad idea to start/end/continue with chocolate, I should probably bring up dinner.

While I never made it to Brussels during any of my travels last year, I thought it ironic and appropriate to ring in the new year with a taste of culture.

Enter brussels sprouts.

(What? You thought that was corny? I’m on academic break right now. I can transition how I want to.)

This is kind of a big deal because up until about two weeks ago I had never even tasted brussels sprouts.

I wanted to. Really, I did. It’s just that I was afraid I wouldn’t like them. So I never tried them, that way I couldn’t exactly say I didn’t like them.

I know.

I got over that hurdle. Let’s pretend that wasn’t my thought process or reasoning. And don’t worry. I plan on more than making up for this lacking in my life.

For my own New Years dinner, I made a simple mix of brussels sprouts, chopped meatballs, and rice. I haven’t stopped dreaming of it since.

It was inspired by Emily’s Asian Sesame Glazed Brussels Sprouts and my constant desire for quick Chinese take-out bathed in soy sauce. With my intolerance to gluten, that doesn’t really go over so well though.  

________

  

Mock Takeout Brussels Sprouts + Rice 

Gather the necessities:

– Brussels Sprouts, the star

– Rice (or another grain, like quinoa)

– Soy Sauce (gluten-free)

– Rice Vinegar

– Sesame Seeds

– Garlic Gold (or another oil with flavor, Emily used Sesame Oil in her recipe)

Rinse your brussels sprouts and cut the stems off. Chop them up into a few pieces and then toss them in some oil in a frying pan. I used Garlic Gold oil and the flavor was incredible. I highly recommend it! It’s a bit pricey, but more than worth it in flavor. Plus, you really use it sparingly because the taste comes through so well. I cooked my brussels sprouts over the stove for at least 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. I like them well done, so just cook according to your taste.

While the brussels sprouts are cooking, mix together your sauce. I don’t really measure sauces like this but to estimate I probably added 2 parts soy sauce to one part rice vinegar, along with a little water and a bit of GG oil.

When the brussels sprouts were done cooking, I added some pre-cooked rice and a chopped up meatball to the pan along with my sauce glaze. Stir together over low flame to heat it all up. After a minute or so of heating through, transfer to a plate and sprinkle with sesame seeds for that added pinch of flavor.

If you’re new to brussels sprouts, I highly recommend mixing up some of your favorite flavors. This is a dish that I’m going to be returning to again and again. It’s simple, has great taste, and of course, it can always be bulked up.

Who doesn’t like a plate that (almost) never ends?

Oh brussels sprouts, you’re pretty ELITE in my world.

________

Wait.

How did that picture make it on here?

So what? I told you “some” was subjective…

Did you ring in the new year with any new foods? Obviously, brussels sprouts were mine. Chocolate has already been a loyal part of my life!

Any must-try foods that you can recommend that are maybe a bit uncommon?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 3:36 pm

    o i love the sauce combo! I LOVE ME some brussel sprouts- next time I will be using this sauce!

  2. January 3, 2011 6:19 pm

    I absolutely love that container of brussels! so cute!

  3. January 3, 2011 6:42 pm

    Yuuum!
    I’ve never tried Brussels sprouts…
    But that recipe makes them look awfully delicious 😉

  4. January 3, 2011 7:08 pm

    I still haven’t gotten up the courage to eat brussel sprouts. I hear so many things about them I’m going to have to try them one of these days.

  5. January 3, 2011 8:25 pm

    that looks like the PERFECT sauce for the little wonders! 🙂 A flavor that is close to my heart would have to be (don’t laugh and or stop reading this) turkey, banana pepper sandwich. kind of uncommon, and I ALWAYS get teased for ever eating it. haha

  6. January 6, 2011 1:40 pm

    Yum!! I’ve never been a fan of brussels sprouts, but I have to say this looks pretty tasty. I may just have to give it a try!

  7. January 6, 2011 2:01 pm

    That looks good, I finally tried it about 2 months ago and it wasn’t that bad.

  8. January 9, 2011 8:10 pm

    Those brussel sprouts sound so good. I love anything that’s like a stir fry

Trackbacks

  1. a blog conversation « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

