Skip to content

the annual christmas production

December 24, 2010
tags:

Because in my house, a Christmas production is exactly what it is!

Christmas is really big in my family.

Our house turns into a gingerbread wonderland to rival Buddy the Elf’s wildest dreams. It’s careful not to overstep the boundaries and verge into cheesy or corny, but we sure do deck the halls. With lights strung up all over, an extension in our living room that’s basically turned into our Christmas tree exhibit, nativity scenes for every santa decoration, and a fireplace permanently aglow (we heat our house with a wood burning stove), home turns into a Christmas hearth of heart, faith, and warmth.

Can you tell I’m glad to be home?

If anyone is like me, the last thing they need is another Christmas cookie or meal recipe. I already have too many on my list that I wanted to make and didn’t (there are only so many cookies a girl can eat…right?). Don’t worry, though. I have full intentions of baking some more delicacies after Christmas.

Right now my mom is calling me to help her chop onions. My little sister wants me to watch Little Women with her again. My older sister wants me to help her wrap presents. My two brothers are asking me if I picked up anything for them to give mom and dad for Christmas.

I just want to sip my hot chocolate and listen to Christmas songs before we make our way to Nanny’s house tonight for my dad’s family’s Christmas. Tomorrow we’ll see my mom’s family for dessert at our house (hence all the baking extravaganzas in Trisha’s kitchen) after we have dinner with her parents.

In between we’ll go to midnight Mass, hang our stockings, and hope santa drops off a gift or two. I’m hoping for two.

What’s one thing you’re thankful for this Christmas? Here’s two of my many: my dad’s successful knee surgery this past Wednesday and the blogosphere 🙂

I wish each and every one of you a very Blessed and Merry Christmas. May the baby Jesus watch over you and your families and bring you much joy and happiness this Christmas season.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2010 4:54 pm

    This whole entry made me smile. Enjoy your holiday!

  2. December 25, 2010 6:08 pm

    I am grateful to be spending a relaxing night at home with my daughter! It’s snowing outside, and it’s a perfect ending to Christmas Day.
    Merry Christmas!

  3. December 25, 2010 6:40 pm

    I am thankful that my boyfriend is coming home from Afghanistan in TWO WEEKS after a year-long deployment! 🙂 Merry Christmas!

    • Natalia permalink*
      December 26, 2010 6:57 pm

      That is truly a blessing to be thankful for 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful visit together!

  4. December 25, 2010 6:46 pm

    MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

    • Natalia permalink*
      December 26, 2010 6:57 pm

      Merry Christmas to you too, Kelsey!

Leave a Reply

