Skip to content

semester at a close

December 15, 2010

Amidst studying for finals, writing my senior thesis proposal, and compiling my internship portfolio, I made sure to make time for fun these last few days of my semester. I mean, you only have senior year of undergrad once, right?  (Well, hopefully..)

In the mix I celebrated one of my closest friend’s 21st birthdays.

The bar scene, naturally, was not optional. But I’ll save you and my dignity from those photos.

The group of us started out at my friends’ house, ordered some Thai, consumed it before I could even think to whip out my camera, and then started the celebrating.

After the celebratory affair and after meeting with Kath, my friends and I got together again for a semester goodbye/ secret santa exchange.

I was really excited because I had no idea which of my friends got me for secret santa.

Lo and behold it was the birthday girl!

I’m not going to even lie about it. Her secret santa gift got me so excited that I had this goofy grin on my face that I couldn’t wipe off.

I should probably add that two years ago this same friend got me as her secret santa. Even back then she picked out an awesome gift for me and I thought there was no way she could top it. It was a hot water bottle for my permanently cold self.

This year she surprised me again.

How well does she know me?

I may have to actually mark on the calendar which days I do not wear this shirt because right now I see this as my permanent wardrobe.

And now, my friends, with finals finally all studied for and written, assignments turned in to professors, and farewells and last goodbyes for the semester said to friends, I’m heading home.

I’m also happy as can be.

On my list of things to do first is cozy up next to our wood burning stove, drink hot chocolate, look through my mom’s cookbooks, and snuggle in my bed while chatting away with my mom.

What’s the best secret santa/ gift exchange present you’ve ever received?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2010 11:36 am

    is it totally sad I’ve never done a secret santa exchange!? they always look super fun! i guess its not too late!

  2. December 15, 2010 2:48 pm

    Enjoy your winter break!! It sounds like you have MORE than earned it!!

  3. December 15, 2010 7:32 pm

    I can’t remember when the last time I did secret santa was and what I got! I love the idea though and will have to plan one for next year with my girls!

  4. December 15, 2010 7:55 pm

    Oh looks like a great time!

  5. December 16, 2010 6:59 am

    Yay, the end of the semester is the best feeling in the world — you must be thrilled to be going home! Hope you have a wonderful, relaxing time!

    Love the secret santa gift, your friend is so thoughtful!

  6. December 16, 2010 9:43 am

    I’m in the middle of finals and wrapping up the first half of my thesis right now, so I totally feel your pain! It’s nice to have a break from that and celebrate the holidays. I’m a horse girl, so I LOVE that shirt! So cute!

    Good luck with the rest of your exams!

    • Natalia permalink*
      December 16, 2010 12:22 pm

      Thank you, good luck to you too!

  7. December 16, 2010 10:03 am

    You look so happy on those pics, love!
    Btw – loved loved loved the horse shirt!
    So beautiful 😀

Leave a Reply

