Skip to content

KERF, IRL

December 13, 2010

I’ve gushed before about how neat my college town is. It’s a pretty popular tourist destination and there are sights and scenery all around that will have your eyes darting from one thing to another. That is, if you don’t get mesmerized by the beautiful ocean backdrop.

There’s almost always something going on and it’s a fun place to explore. The restaurants are endless, as are the bars!

Even though it’s colder now and the winter season doesn’t have the town running rampant with tourists, people still come to visit, especially during Christmas time.

The mansions are decked out with decorations and the lights around town make you feel like you’re walking in a winter wonderland. They even setup an ice skating rink! 

Recently even Christina Aguilera made a trip to visit! Maybe she was scouting real estate? I wouldn’t doubt she could afford the likes of these…

But I didn’t see the Britney-Rival-Pop-Star of my youth.

No.

I met someone even better. 

Kath of KERF fame!

And her sister, Laura, from Taking Back My Twenties!

And their respective Matts!

They came to Newport for the weekend and were kind enough to meetup with me for a visit. We all met up at The Mooring so they could get their evening of beer tasting and appetizer sampling off to an official Newport start.

(Head over to Katheats for a recap of their adventures!)

At The Mooring, these seafood donuts caught their attention on the menu. Though I didn’t participate in the sampling, they did look quite good.

While it’s great checking out new blogs, I think everyone has their standard go-to blogs that they love to follow. If you’re like me, you may consider them real life friends even if you’ve never conversed or met before, especially in person.

Kath is was one of those people for me.

Meeting Kath was honestly an incredible experience for me. Through reading her blog and following her posts I found the inspiration to start my own. Granted, it took me longer than I would have hoped to get started, but I may not have taken the leap of photographing and writing at all if it weren’t for her! She, Matt, Laura, and Matt were so gracious and I enjoyed chatting with them so much.

[I may/may not have been a bit starstruck.]

After The Mooring, they headed over to Diego’s and I said goodbye as I headed out to meet some friends for our Secret Santa party.

It was an evening of friends (new and old!) and Christmas spirit.

I’m heading home this week after finals are over and I don’t think I can think of a better way to have spent my last Saturday in Newport for the year 2010.

Have you ever met someone you admire or who has inadvertently inspired you?

What did you do this weekend to get into the Christmas spirit?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 10:59 am

    ahh Kath is a celebrity- lucky you!

  2. December 13, 2010 11:46 am

    although Victoria isnt as cool as this, our town is pretty similar..the marina always hides a lot of fun gems to explore 🙂

  3. December 13, 2010 12:27 pm

    That’s exciting! I think I would be starstruck as well. It’s also strange for me that she has a Southern accent because (since I’m not from the south) I kind of imagine everyone on the internet to have midwest accents.
    Anyway, that was a weird sidetrack to say it would be fun to meet your online heroes in real life!

  4. December 13, 2010 2:13 pm

    I met Jen from priorfatgirl. I had been reading blogs, but didn’t have one of my own, and after meeting her I came right home and started blogging!
    I started baking Christmas treats this weekend to get into the holiday spirit.

  5. December 13, 2010 4:47 pm

    What a fun night! Those donuts look delicious!

  6. December 13, 2010 6:34 pm

    Sounds like a fun time!

  7. December 13, 2010 7:41 pm

    That sounds so fun! I love her blog 🙂

  8. December 13, 2010 8:50 pm

    Oh, how fun! And I just love that you got to try the Seafood Doughnuts as well. I was capital-C Curious about those things.

    I can’t say that I’ve ever meat a blogging-idol of mine, but I am excited to be meeting up with a new blog friend who just happens to be swinging by the cities. It should be lovely.

  9. December 13, 2010 10:52 pm

    I bet it was so fun meeting KERF! You live in a beautiful place! This week I wrote our Christmas cards, made cookies, went to a gingerbread decorating girls party, and blasted Christmas music while prancing around in a Santa hat! Christmas is my favorite!

  10. December 14, 2010 8:50 pm

    Newport is such a beautiful town! Love that gorgeous first ocean picture! Meeting Kath must have been so much fun, she seems like such a genuinely sweet person…I’d love to meet her too! 🙂

  11. December 15, 2010 2:46 pm

    There really is nothing like getting to actually meet and talk with someone who’s inspired you so much – it’s an experience that words can’t really describe. I’ve been lucky enough to have that happen several times, and each one is a memory I’ll always treasure. And, beyond that, it can be even more special to finally spend time with a friend in person after having first met online. I fully believe that people come into our lives for a reason. I’ve found several of my closest friends via the computer and wouldn’t trade those friendships for the world ❤

Trackbacks

  1. semester at a close « A Side of Simple
  2. ten highlights of 2010 « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

