Skip to content

prep for finals, finally

December 10, 2010

Truthfully, this week has been a jumble of some of this and some of that.

It’s been the last week of official classes at school, as well as the last week of my internship.

What does this really mean? Not only is it finally almost finals time, but it’s crunch time. With the end of the semester comes last lectures, last assignments, last corrections. Even more, comes a need for comfort in the form of food, a fire in the fireplace, and tunes.

But while I can’t do much for my lack of a fire in a nonexistent fireplace, I can do a little soothing for my soul and body. Here enter two of my go-to eats this week. I made them for dinner ahead of time since I knew I would be busy each day, probably until about dinner time.

First up I decided finals/studying meant I needed a boost of protein.

Enter my quinoa concoction:

This is honestly one of the easiest, tastiest comfort meals.

Dare I say it reminds my taste buds of Macaroni and Cheese? 

Oh, I dare.

Since I’m also trying to clean out my fridge and one of my cabinets, I mixed and added a few randoms that resembles that one time I thought* I made chili.

(Really…it tasted like it!)

Here’s what went into the pot along with some water, salt, and pepper:

 

I may or may not have gone a little overboard with the chili powder.

I just set it on the stove and let it boil away for a while. Then I refrigerated it and warmed it up for dinner. Meals like this really do taste so much better after they sit for a bit. Gives the flavors and tastes a chance to marry and spread their love.

On Monday I gushed about my love for Anthro and how I’ve enjoyed getting a bit dressed up for my internship. Later this week I thought it was pretty silly how I didn’t post an outfit or anything that I’ve worn to my internship. So I played dress-up (aka: didn’t read/study). Instead, here’s what I ended up wearing for my last day.

Note: I completely forgot I had these little cowboy boots. They (almost) made my life complete this week.

They most certainly do deserve their own photo.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention another little comfort I got. For the last day of my internship the staff had a cake for me to say thanks.

Did I mention it was gluten-free? Love. This, added to my finding of my boots in the back of my closet, made my life a bit more complete.

It one of my favorites, yellow cake with chocolate icing. I thought I died. I couldn’t get over how moist and rich it was.

So good.

There’s currently a big slice of it in my freezer. Maybe as an “after I study” reward? Thoughts?

When you’re in a rush or know you have a busy schedule coming up, do you cook before hand and then heat it up?

What’s your heat-up-go-to dinner?

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2010 1:58 pm

    We will probably cook some stuff beforehand to have for easy meals from the freezer after baby B is born. I can be bad about remembering to do that though.

    And I hope the stress of the end of the semester goes quickly for you! I always hated that time of the semester.

  2. December 10, 2010 4:03 pm

    I just stumbled on your blog and I’m glad I did — love it! Good luck during crunch time! These dishes look like the perfect comforting dishes.

  3. December 10, 2010 7:16 pm

    Great idea with the quinoa!

  4. December 12, 2010 12:24 pm

    Yellow cake with chocolate icing is the best combo hands down! 🙂 Cute boots!

  5. Jenna's Journey permalink
    December 12, 2010 6:22 pm

    great blog! i just came across it from kath’s! and OMG i just adore that oufit of yours…so in styleee!

    • Natalia permalink*
      December 12, 2010 7:37 pm

      thanks for stopping by! anthro is one of my favorites 🙂

  6. December 12, 2010 11:09 pm

    I love cooking a bunch of meals on Sunday and then defrosting throughout the week.
    Chili, lasagna, casseroles, stew, etc.
    It cuts down so much on stress! Good luck with finals and such 🙂

Leave a Reply

