Skip to content

dresses, and scarves, and sweaters

December 6, 2010
tags:

Oh my!

Sadly, tomorrow is the last day of my internship that I’ve been working at this semester. It was with a magazine company and I really enjoyed it so much. The projects I worked on and the people I interacted with were such a highlight to the first part of my senior year. From collaborating on cover designs, to creating videos, to soliciting at launch parties, to writing articles, my time there was an incredible learning experience.

Along with everything I learned and contributed to, another perk of my internship was that it was an excuse to dress up.

While I never had to do any coffee runs, I definitely would not have minded grabbing a croissant and cup of java for my boss in the above outfit.

See, I don’t know about your school experience, but my academic attire hasn’t exactly been replicant of the Gossip Girl fashion. Sure, I wouldn’t mind looking like I just jumped out of the pages of Vogue or was fresh off the Paris runway, but there are two factors that complicate this.

1. Bank Account: their clothes aren’t exactly in my budget

2. Real Life: no one really wears clothes like that to class. Honestly.

Here’s where my internship came in. It was the perfectly acceptable excuse for me to dress up in skirts, sweaters, and dresses without the disapproving look of my classmates. Not that I really care what my classmates think. I’m sure being dressed like Blair or Serena would have only boosted my scholarly retention. (Right?)  But at my internship it was the perfect environment to spruce up my wardrobe a bit.

Even though my internship is coming to a close, I still think some of Anthropologie’s latest fashions would be great additions to my closet.

I’m seeing potential birthday party outfits, numerous Christmas ensembles, nostalgic fireplace attire, and many more fashions that I’m swooning over.

And yes. Each of those just might involve an item from their “sleep wear” collection.

Because making an adequate Christmas Wish List is (almost) as important as finals, I might as well add some of these trinkets, which may just be about right in my budget range.

What was/is your experience at school with dressing up/class attire? I must say that I maybe wear sweats once? a semester to class. I tend to shy away from that look and I do like to get dressed nice, just ypically not in dresses or skirts.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 1:35 pm

    I used to wear skirts on occasion, but mostly stuck with jeans and t-shirts or sweaters. I tried not to look like I just rolled out of bed, but I didn’t want to stand out by being the girl who looked like she spent too much time getting ready in the morning.

  2. December 7, 2010 4:34 pm

    I lived in hoodies and yoga pants in college, mostly because I would leave my apartment and go to the gym, class, study group, library and not get back to change for many hours so I always went with what was comfortable and quick and easy haha I always felt so weird when I had to dress up for class because of a meeting or something important because I would look so out of place in class!

  3. December 11, 2010 1:35 pm

    Hi! I found your blog via Caitlin’s 🙂 Your internship sounds like it was AMAZING. I went the broadcasting route when I was in college, but I would have absolutely loved to intern at a magazine, too. What a fantastic experience it sounds like it was for you!!

  4. Jenna's Journey permalink
    December 12, 2010 6:24 pm

    loveee anthropologieee!

Trackbacks

  1. prep for finals, finally « A Side of Simple
  2. meet me at the mansion « A Side of Simple
  3. a blog conversation « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

