Skip to content

a rough start

December 3, 2010
tags:

My month sure got off to a rough start. If December is going to start off being rough, I want it to come in the form of Christmas cookie baking adventures, not unruly laptops. The verdict is in, though, and it’s saved.

Yes, thank you, God, that my laptop has been resuscitated. You have no idea how grateful I am. After it decided to have a melt down on me, I brought it to the IT powers-that-be at my school. Then all I could do was wait. And panic. I could do that. But I really tried not to. Instead I prayed a lot, tried some bargaining tactics (only one more oreo, not two…you know…that kind of bargaining) and tried to fill my head with Christmas carols via headphones and youtube in the university library. 

The mini Christmas tree in my apartment helped me get in the mood, too.

Yesterday afternoon I learned that they were able to save my hard drive and that I would get my laptop back probably by Friday. Lo and behold, I rushed over to the IT department when I got the phone call this morning. After signing for my child, I raced back to my apartment and plugged her in to see what she had for me.

Hold breath.

[SIGH].

It was about as beautiful as Christmas lights. All was right in the world. Or at least in my little cosmos of academia a week and a half before finals.

Ever since I turned my laptop on a few hours ago, I’ve been happy as an elf.  That is, of course, if I knew elves were always happy. But according to Buddy, smiling was his favorite, so that implies happiness, right? On to December and all the joy it brings with Christmas and holidays, then!  (P.S. It’s my birthday month. Just another reason why I love December).

Another thing that is putting my Friday off to a great start is a little discovery that I made this morning before I learned about my laptop comebacktolife. (I wasn’t going to be sure until I plugged it in. Call me Doubting Thomas, but with techonology you never know).

I’m a big fan of Dannon‘s All Natural Plain Nonfat Yogurt. I’m an even bigger fan of Greek yogurt, though.

Imagine my ultimate satisfaction, then, when I came to the very bottom of my jar this morning and found what looked to be like….Greek yogurt! It wasn’t like the regular yogurt at all because the liquid had separated.

So what did I do? Rather than mix it back in, I drained it and then helped myself to a bit of pretend noncholant Greek yogurt!

Ladies and gentlemen, please just take a moment and look at that.

I assure you there are no strings, wires, or Christmas lights to disillusion you. It’s really just that beautiful.

 That’s how thick it was. It was basically attached to the spoon. The texture was just like the Greek stuff and I was a happy breakfast eater, though I may have been even a bit happier when I received the news about my laptop. 

I think between my laptop and my yogurt finding I need to celebrate with a few Christmas classics. 

What’s your favorite kind of yogurt? Have you watched any Christmas classics yet?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 10:25 am

    Yay for getting your computer back!
    December is my birthday month, too. It’s a great month.
    I like plain greek yogurt the best 🙂

    • Natalia permalink*
      December 3, 2010 1:30 pm

      happy birthday month!!

  2. December 3, 2010 12:30 pm

    Yay!!! I am happy that your laptop is saved! 🙂

  3. December 3, 2010 5:00 pm

    That’s great about your laptop, cute tree! I love Fage yogurt and all Trader Joe’s Greek yogurts.

  4. December 4, 2010 12:12 pm

    I love the cream top yogurts from brown cow. The thicker the better! Love the cute little tree. We have one of those too. I need to get on the ball for christmas movies….maybe a christmas story should be the first one.
    Cheers!
    LC

  5. December 4, 2010 1:11 pm

    LOVE me some yogurt!
    GIRL TRY FROZEN PB! youll love it 🙂

  6. December 5, 2010 8:29 am

    Yay! So happy your laptop is working again!

  7. December 5, 2010 2:31 pm

    That’s so cool! I LOVE GREEK YOGURT! I am all about peach Chobani in the morning. That is so cool that you could found greek yogurt at the bottom of the Dannon! Nice score! haha 🙂

    Happy that your laptop is all better now 🙂

  8. December 5, 2010 3:10 pm

    I love Dannon Light and Fit yogurt in lemon. It’s great with pomegrante seeds sprinkled on top of it!

  9. December 5, 2010 10:30 pm

    Stoneyfield Farm and greek! Full fat. Go big or go home! :)))

  10. December 9, 2010 4:53 pm

    Not sure if you ever read http://www.katheats.com but over there a while back she strained regular yogurt in order to create a kind of do it yourself greek yogurt. I found it here, http://www.katheats.com/yogurt-capades/.

    • Natalia permalink*
      December 9, 2010 6:50 pm

      Thanks for the link! I just thought it was so neat because I didn’t even do anything, it was natural separation.

Leave a Reply

