Skip to content

laptop recovery

December 1, 2010
tags: ,

Twas’ the night before Wednesday and all through my room

I was praying for sleep, “Oh please, dreams, come soon”

See earlier that day my laptop took a fail

Now my data, my papers, my life gone, avail

You know it’s bad if I’m trying to rhyme. At least it’s keeping me from panicking. Because amidst my open books and reading of notes, my laptop decided to crash. I’m not sure what happened, who ever knows? I managed to save the two major papers I’ve been working on before anything happened to them, and I’m really hoping the rest can be saved as well. But I feel like I’m missing a limb without my laptop. I hate being so reliant on a technological appliance of sorts, but it’s the way of the academic/student world today.

And obviously, for any blogger/reader, you need internet access!

The only thing I can do right now is console myself. With what, you may ask?

Wine.

Mi-Del Crack Gluten Free Oreos.

Christmas tunes.

25 Days of Christmas. Well,  if I had TV I know this would help, too.

Excuse me while I go call my friends and see if I can watch some Christmas shows. Wait, err…I mean borrow their laptop for homework.

Has your computer/laptop ever crashed on you? Were you able to salvage your data?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 10:31 am

    has not ever happened to me, thank goodness! buuuttttt if it’s any consolation, you won my gluten-free general mills giveaway! i announced it yesterday 🙂

    if you wouldn’t mind sending me your shipping info to my email, i’ll get you your prizes, asap! xo.

    • Natalia permalink*
      December 1, 2010 11:02 am

      I would say that’s a pretty great consolation 🙂

  2. December 1, 2010 10:39 am

    I feel for you, I had my laptop crash once and it was horrible. I lost everything- both personal and for work. Luckily my husband is my boss and couldn’t get very mad at me for losing extremely important docs. Typing this is making me want to back up my laptop right about now! I hope you get your computer fixed, or get a new laptop soon!

  3. December 1, 2010 3:49 pm

    Wine makes everything a little better 🙂

  4. December 1, 2010 10:45 pm

    Oh my gosh, I’ve been worrying my laptops going to do that anyday now. :/ I’d consider investing in an external harddrive..one’s on my Christmas list this year but if I don’t get it, I’m going out to buy one the next day. Gah, I can only imagine how that felt..honestly, I’d probably be curled up in a ball somewhere lmho

  5. December 2, 2010 8:09 am

    I just got a new computer…so I’m hoping this wont happen to me….

    Sorry for the bad luck 😦

  6. December 2, 2010 3:18 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your computer, I have a mac and have never had a problem but I did lose all my music on my parents computer a few years ago, you would have though I just lost my best friend so I can’t imagine losing everything, did you have a backup? Loving your blog btw.

    • Natalia permalink*
      December 3, 2010 1:31 pm

      they managed to save the majority of my data, but a hard drive for backup is on my Christmas list now!

  7. December 2, 2010 8:00 pm

    I spilled water on mine once and had 3 very anxious days waiting for it to dry out – it worked again but now I see green on the screen everywhere 🙂

  8. December 5, 2010 2:19 am

    my laptops are always on the verge of breaking…I feel for ya

    (I secretly looooove Amy Grant’s Christmas collection hah)

Trackbacks

  1. a rough start « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

