Skip to content

a reminiscent feast

November 29, 2010

Some posts call for words. Other posts, only a few pictures will do. I could go on about the great time I had being home for Thanksgiving break. I could tell you how I enjoyed being lazy at times, then other times was furiously busy reading and typing away at papers or chopping and stirring in the kitchen. There was visiting to be had, friends to laugh with, and family members’ company to relish.

However, it’s Monday. And sure, I’m still feeling grateful, but the work week is calling my name.

So instead of a play-by-play of the past few days, here are some pictures of some foods that graced the table at Thanksgiving. If you’ve already had enough of Thanksgiving for one year, I hope you’ll still stop by again and not judge me. I think it’s nice to reminisce a few days after the fact.

December is right around the corner. One more tribute to Thanksgiving won’t hurt, will it?

Behind the Scenes:

Then Trisha told me to get to work. I told her I could sip hot chocolate, take pictures, and chop vegetables at the same time but she wasn’t too convinced at my multitasking abilities. Somehow I put both the camera and hot chocolate aside and picked up the knife instead. Well… I did want to eat….

My parents, two brothers, two sisters, and I all sat down to dinner together for a wonderful Thanksgiving feast. It was so pleasant to just sit down together for a meal and visit. Usually someone is always missing because of school, work, and activities. Trisha is a master in the kitchen, obviously the food did not disappoint. I like to think my stirring abilities and timing skills helped, too.  

Our Table Spread:

(Note: I had to rush the pictures. The family has an appetite. You don’t tell them to wait while you remove the oven mit and arrange the dishes a certain way.)

There was stuffing, turkey, cranberry sauce, corn, artichoke squares, spinach balls, salad, baked-stuffed potatoes, rolls. gravy, and sweet potatoes. Wine, water, and sparkling cider splashed as we toasted our glasses.

Trisha always outdoes herself. I don’t complain.

Leftovers are always a highlight to any holiday meal, don’t you think?

Dessert is typically at our house for the holidays. Thanksgiving is usually a limited crowd so we didn’t have our huge spread. We did have a few pies, brownies, cookies and bars, coffee, and tea. I snapped up a couple of photos but after looking through my camera I realized I missed out on about 3 pies, all the cookies and bars, and a few other desserts. Fail, Natalia, major fail.

Dessert, Before It Was Devoured:

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving, traveled safe , and made great memories.

On another note, can you believe it’s almost December? When do you start decorating for the December holidays?

My family usually decorates the first weekend of December. I love it when I come home for Christmas break and home is all decorated for Christmas. Seriously, it’s like Buddy the Elf comes to our living room, no joke.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 12:51 pm

    I just pulled out all my Christmas decorations out today. I’m going to start decorating this week.

  2. valgal123 permalink
    November 29, 2010 2:20 pm

    All that food looks incredibly delicious!

  3. November 29, 2010 2:37 pm

    I know–I totally can’t believe it’s almost December. Yikes. I still feel like it’s September!
    Your Thanksgiving spread looks so great! The pictures of the bacon and the butter and the whipped cream . . . mmmmm. It’s making me feel like Thanksgiving all over again. =)

  4. November 30, 2010 5:21 pm

    That menu looks great! I wont usually start decorating until about December 10th or so but it really depends on when there is a weekend that the whole family is together! (which can be a struggle sometimes…)

  5. November 30, 2010 8:50 pm

    what a feast! I wish I had all those desserts right now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

