Skip to content

the morning after

November 26, 2010

I’m not sure what you wake up to the morning after Thanksgiving. For some of you it may be utter joy at the refrigerator full of leftovers. Others may be savoring another hour of sleeping in before they break out the pie and have a nice slice with a cup of tea and coffee for a sweet, satisfying breakfast. Then there are those of you who may have been up for hours already and are returning home after braving the mad crowds for some early shopping savings. (To those people, last night I said, “Goodnight, and good luck.”) Others may be hitting the pavement or the gym to ward off that extra serving of stuffing from getting too attached to your thighs. It was OK when the turkey was filled to the brim, but we all know that’s a different story when it comes to the human body.

“Butterball” just isn’t that endearing a term when it’s not stamped on your turkey, am I right?  

For others, like those who wake up in a bedroom above a kitchen, you may find yourself drifting away from sleep and braving the cold air outside your comforter and blankets. Despite being up until early hours of the morning and your body wanting more sleep, you make the decision to throw on some layers, grab your slippers, and frolic down the stairs. (So I didn’t actually frolic. It did sound better than “trumped,” though, which is probably more like what I did in my layers and robe.)

The big question is…why?  

Oh, just an aroma that made me think for a moment that my dream/future life of living on a horse ranch was actually the present. Too much turkey will make you believe almost anything, I swear.

Trisha was in her kitchen.

This is what I found.     

I’m sure you have plenty of Thanksgiving recaps to go read, so maybe I’ll give you a picture collage next week to reminisce.

For now, I have some bacon that needs eating.

 

What do you do the day after Thanksgiving? I have to get to work on some school assignments, maybe go for a light run, and then I have plans to visit with more family. And naturally there are some leftovers…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 1:59 pm

    If I have the money and the patience, I will sometimes brave the Black Friday shopping frenzy in search of good deals. Usually, I just try to sleep in and relax on one of my few days off from work. I also like a lazy breakfast and QT with hubby, Bailey, and the rest of my fam. 🙂

  2. November 27, 2010 2:18 pm

    I seriously do nothing…eat leftovers and sit wishing I hadn’t eaten so much. 🙂

    But that bacon does look scrumptious!

  3. November 28, 2010 4:05 pm

    Day after Thanksgiving for me is always spent decorating and relaxing. It makes me so happy. Hope you’re enjoying the last bit of the holiday break!

Leave a Reply

