Skip to content

give thanks

November 24, 2010

I know I just recently used a list as an excuse for a post, but I really do just like lists that much. And sometimes they are the easiest way to sort out your thoughts and ideas instead of having them run on and on like this explanation as to why I’m giving you another list.

The year 2010 has been an incredible year for me. In some ways it has been the most emotional and the hardest. In other ways it has been the most amazing. To sum it up, I would have to say it’s been the most “alive” 11 months of my life so far. In the spirit of Thanksgiving I wanted to write out a few things I am thankful for akin to this year. I’m certain I’ll extend this post in some form or another around Christmas and the New Year, but for now… 

…and without further ado, here are some things I’ve done this year that I am heart and soul thankful for this Thanksgiving.

I spent five months living abroad in Ireland, traveling to some of the most beautiful, scenic places in the world.

I traveled through Italy and France with my sister, something I was afraid to even dream about and didn’t think possible.

I went all the way to California to have my first fro-yo experience. (Well, not really. But it was one of the perks of going to see some of the kindred spirits I met while in Europe!) Either way, it did not disappoint. Which may explain how I had it 3 days in a row.

I went to the Vatican and saw the Pope in real life. Yea. Enough said.

I met two of the most faithful, beautiful young women in a far off country. Both of these girls, I know, will be two of my closest friends for the rest of my life. I mean, we didn’t trump across 4 countries together, sleep in a train station, and scramble through airport security 3 times in a row for nothing.

 

I found the courage and the spunk to stop imagining all the things I would say in a blog post. I put those thoughts to action and started typing words and snapping photos away.

At school my friends and I celebrate the end of stressful weeks (so this means we do this every week…) with “family style” dinners. Wine is not optional.

But most of all, I’ve come to realize even more fully that there truly is no place like home.

 I’m so thankful for home and the faith, family, and friends that make it home for me.

What is something that you’ve done or experienced this year that you are thankful for?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 10:48 pm

    Wow! What an amazing year you’ve had!

Trackbacks

  1. ten highlights of 2010 « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

