Skip to content

shopping for savings

November 17, 2010

By midweek (errr by Monday mornings usually?…) I’m all about the weekend.

But life has other things in mind, like an actual life.

So while I may not be able to be here:

 

Doing what I could (and will do in the not so distant future) do every day for the rest of my life:

I’ll just remedy my midweek randomness and motivate my rest of the week studying with a little shopping extravaganza.

Lucky for me, I live near an Ocean State Job Lot.

Even luckier, when I popped in there after work yesterday evening, I stumbled/hunted down some pretty great products that I knew would wake me up in the middle of the night with cold sweats if I didn’t purchase them. Maybe that’s an exaggeration, but I’m confident I would have thought about them until I returned to the store-of-savings and added them to my collection of smart shop savings.

Don’t mind the backdrop. It was late and dark.

No, let me correct myself. It was only 5:00pm and it was dark.

Tell me about it…

I found some chocolate covered peanuts (a total study/read/write necessity), some peanut butter Puffins and cinnamon Puffins, gluten-free pasta, and white quinoa. All this came to about $10. How could I not buy?

Whoops.

How could I forget the quinoa? Oh, maybe because I was too busy hugging it with one arm in joy as I took a picture of my great accomplishment?

I used to be a big cereal eater but since finding out I’m allergic to gluten, I’ve stayed clear of it. But these Puffins cereals don’t list wheat or gluten as any of their ingredients, though they’re not labeled gluten-free because they have oat flour (which doesn’t bother me) and they are processed in a facility that also processes wheat products. They looked too good to pass up, though, so I’m going to try them out and see how I feel.

Also, I’ve never tried white quinoa before, only the red kind. I’m excited to see if there’s a big taste difference! And the pasta is made from corn flour, which I had never heard of using for pasta so I would say this is a pretty adventurous shopping spree, wouldn’t you?

I think I just might make it to the weekend now.

Plus, It’s only a week + 1 day until Turkey Fest 2010, aka Thanksgiving.

What are some random purchases you’ve made recently? Anything you don’t usually buy?

How do you spice up your week?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 5:13 pm

    ooh I love that cereal!

  2. November 18, 2010 12:47 pm

    this title should be how i shop!!! thanks for the tips girl!

  3. November 18, 2010 2:52 pm

    it would be so serene to horseback ride along the beach! ahhh the pics put me into such a tranquil state of mind 🙂 🙂

    haha i love that u made sure to give the quinoa a little love and some camera time ❤ mmm enjoy the puffin cereal!! and omg choc covered peanuts- LOVE!!!! ❤

  4. November 19, 2010 11:48 am

    Wow, I have seen quinoa (same size box) at Whole Foods for close to 13 bucks. This was a steal!

    Let us know if there is a taste difference, I’m definitely curious.

Leave a Reply

