Skip to content

weekend rewind

November 15, 2010

I think a nice way to start off Monday and the beginning on a new school/work week is to recap the weekend. Saturday and Sunday are made for activities, relaxing, sleeping, and with the whole do-what-you-want theme making the hours go by, I fully support it when bloggers take a break from their laptops. Everyone needs to unplug here and there, right? Isn’t that what the weekend is for?

Glad I have your support, friends.

As I mentioned Friday, my mom and little sister came to visit me this weekend. I didn’t take my camera out a lot because I truly just wanted to enjoy myself. This isn’t to say I don’t love taking pictures. Trust me, I’m all about photography. Capturing the moments and getting the angles just right are something I love to play around with. But this weekend, I honestly wanted to just enjoy and be with my mom and sis.

We had such a great time. It started off a bit rough with somewhat of a fiasco (can I get a nod from all those who share apartments with others?) but I believe we turned it around and had such a great time.

We laughed hard. We ate well. We walked fast. 

The three of us took on the town and explored, attempted failed to fly a kite, walked along the beach, saved some jellyfish, sipped hot chocolate, drove along Ocean Drive, had a big-bonding sleepover in a not-so-big room, and just reveled in each other’s company.  

We couldn’t have asked for a better weekend weather wise, but now with the time change it does get dark earlier, so on Saturday night we went to the movies and saw Secretariat.

WOW. Great movie. Definitely recommend it, even for those non-horse lovers out there. I found it very inspirational and moving, plus the filmography was unique and very well done. A film the whole family can watch, and that’s not a common thing these days.

Waving them off come Sunday afternoon was hard, but one of the great parts about them coming this weekend was that next week I’ll be going home for Thanksgiving. So not only do I get to look forward to seeing them and the rest of the family in just a handful or so of days, but I get to look forward to one of any foodie’s favorite holidays, the day designated solely for eating and being with family.

Not a bad thing at all.

How was your weekend?

Do you tend to step away from the blogging/blog reading world during the weekend?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 5:46 pm

    Looks like a great weekend with some gorgeous scenery!

  2. November 15, 2010 7:16 pm

    Great pictures! Glad you had a great weekend 🙂

  3. November 15, 2010 9:33 pm

    You have such a lovely family 🙂

    I always take a break from the blogging life on the weekend. I think its so important to separate the two 🙂

  4. November 16, 2010 1:10 pm

    So happy you got to fully enjoy the weekend with them. And that movie was surprisingly good to me too. I loved it!

Leave a Reply

