Skip to content

the holidays are coming

November 8, 2010

If the stores and television commercials are any sign, it’s clearly the start of the Holiday season.

November and December, and two major holidays in both?

This is basically how I feel right now.

The day after Halloween and the stores whip out their Thanksgiving and Christmas decorations. It’s like the great pumpkin never even existed. Witches and goblins go into hibernation again to make way for the Pilgrims and Santa Claus. Candy corns morph  into candy canes right before your eyes. (Maybe not right before your eyes, but you get the picture.) Next thing you know you’re making travel plans, decorating for the holidays, and debating between apple cider and egg nog.

First pictures of pies grace the magazine covers on the racks. Then the top 10 best Thanksgiving recipes pop up on every website. And pretty soon Christmas cookies will take over kitchen duty for the pies, and Christmas menus and gift-lists will replace turkey recipes and sweet potato casserole.

November and December are great months, filled with feasts,  family, feasts, friends, and did I mention food yet? In case you couldn’t tell, I’m already pretty excited. I realize how fortunate I am to have a great family to celebrate with and so many things to be thankful for. I know it could change in a second, so I try to relish it all when I can and thank God for all I have.

Now I think I’m off to go make some hot chocolate, cuddle in my robe, and relish the coming season. School assignments, you have been officially placed on hold until further notice.

Or until your deadline.

Are you as excited for the upcoming holidays as I am? Do you have a favorite? Please share!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 3:53 pm

    I am so excited for the holidays! Target was looking just a bit Chirstmas-y this weekend…..I was able to snag some discount halloween candy though (which I ate entirely too much of-anyway).

    I just love food and family–whatever holiday that may be. Thanksgiving is obviously on my radar now, but then it will be Christmas.

    After Christmas though–I am ready for winer to be OVER!

  2. November 8, 2010 8:35 pm

    I love the holidays!!! The food, the decorating, spending time with family… its one of the best times of the year!

  3. November 9, 2010 1:13 pm

    I LOVE holidays. Really, any day dedicated to being with the ones you love and feasting is a big win for me.

    July 4th is really the only holiday I despise and that’s only because it’s cursed. http://lapetitepancake.wordpress.com/2010/07/13/curse-of-the-4th/

    HAPPY HOLIDAY SEASON!!!

  4. November 9, 2010 9:03 pm

    oh I love the holidays- I can’t wait for thanksgiving!!!

Leave a Reply

