Skip to content

world’s most awkward chili

November 6, 2010

This was not my chili. Although I’m convinced it tasted just as good.

I’m not even sure if what I made it can be called chili. I almost didn’t even write this post. But then I decided I had to share the love.

Really, it’s just to emphasize the point that you can make something out of an almost empty refrigerator.

It all started on Wednesday afternoon when I was thinking about what I was going to have for dinner. Alright, actually if I’m being honest it probably started on Tuesday night, after I just had dinner, and got to thinking about what I would have for dinner the next night. Come on, I know I’m not the only one who dreams of food. Just the fact that there is a whole blog world (not to mention a festival, devoted to food blogging) proves this fact. Let’s just be friends already and accept it. It’s like that Facebook friend request you have consistently pending. Accept it and rejoice.

I digress.

Aside: Speaking of the Foodbuzz conference, anyone going? I so wish I could go. Maybe next year? Ultimate dream come true? I think so…

Wait, what was I even talking about? Wednesday night’s dinner. Right.

The contents of my fridge resembled something like a bit of leftover corn, a handful or two of baby carrots, and a hamburger. Sigh. Go to the cabinets. I find a can of stewed tomatoes. Sigh. What the heck am I going to do with all this?

Bring on the world’s most awkward chili. I should probably be embarrassed to say that I mixed all these things together in a small pot and let them stew away for about an hour with some added water, salt, and pepper. I should probably be embarrassed that when I was sitting in class from 6-7:30pm it was basically all I could think about.

But I’m not.

It smelled delicious like chili should smell. It looked like chili should look. The only thing I’m embarrassed about is that I was like a hungry wolf upon my return from class and I basically devoured the entire pot, no bowl required. So that’s my excuse for no picture. For appearances sake, and I’ll admit, to save face, here’s a picture of what it “could” have looked like.  

And while it may not have “really” been chili, it was soothing to my soul and warming to my heart. I think that’s pretty much chili’s standards, right?

Just goes to show you how a little can go a long way.

What’s a recent meal you’ve had to scrape together out of just a few seemingly awkward ingredients? Did it turn out good/bad?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 1:49 pm

    I’ve never really improvised on a meal like that. I always worry it will end up inedible. Thats why I always plan meals out…and if i don’t have anything on hand to cook you find me eating cereal instead. LOL

  2. November 7, 2010 9:34 pm

    I ALWAYS have facebook friends pending. It’s a real problem 🙂

    I’m not great at throwing together meals from my cupboard. on those days we either have eggs or oatmeal.

Trackbacks

  1. prep for finals, finally « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

