Skip to content

bingo and a brown paper (box) package

November 2, 2010

Bingo.

It’s a game built for winning. There’s no strategy involved, no technical skills or intellectual knowledge required. The concept is simple. Listen, mark your card, and don’t be that person who cries “BINGO!” when they really don’t have it. Yes, no one likes that person. 

Why am I talking about Bingo? Because that’s pretty much the only time I’ve ever won anything gift/free related in a contest or game.

Sure, there are always raffles, giveaways, free-stuff contests  going on, and who doesn’t love any of those? Well, if you never win any, they don’t exactly become your best friends.

But this one time in a small town in the Catskills when I was about 10? I went to Bingo with a bunch of family members. It was exciting and fun, just for laughs.

And then there was the $100 final prize. The last game. The tension. The silence. The nervous flutter in my stomach.

When I filled up my card I was almost too nervous to yell out the magic word.

I found my courage, though, and my 10-year-old voice echoed out “BINGO.”

Wait, I thought. My voice definitely just echoed. And what was my sister doing? Why was she yelling the magic word, too? And why did I hear it 8 other times?

Needless to say, that $100 prize was divided 10 ways. As a child (and I’ll admit, I probably still would be disappointed if it happened that way again) I was a little disgruntled.

Fast forward: I discover the blog world. There are awesome giveaways from generous bloggers and companies. Does it hurt to enter? No. I don’t even have to yell “BINGO.”

Sign.Me.Up.

When I found out I won a “Sweet Moments” giveaway from Cashews and Humus, you bet I felt like a 10-year-old again. Because who doesn’t love to win something and find it on their doorstep?

Oh, for me?

OH FOR ME!!!

There are safer methods, I’m sure, but I was just so excited.

I am in love with the packaging. These boxes are definitely going to be used as decorations!

The lotion, scrub, and gel  smell like chocolate. For real, like chocolate. As in, I’m not sure I should use them because I might just find myself in a chocolate store against my will because I need to devour either myself or real chocolate. It also came with a loofah and bath salts. Honestly, I think it’s an adorable little gift basket, especially for those chocolate lovers out there (let us UNITE!).

And these bite-size brownies made the perfect little sweet gift for one of my friends yesterday for her birthday. She loves brownies and caramel, so I knew it was a match made in heaven.

Thank again, Cara!



What’s your opinion about giveaways and contests?

Have you ever won any blogger giveaways?  Do you enter them?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2010 10:51 am

    i love winning them, but they are actually a lot of work to do! still a lot of fun though 🙂

  2. November 3, 2010 11:15 am

    Lucky you! I have won 2 givewaways to date. I’m still waiting for them!

  3. November 7, 2010 11:12 pm

    FUN FUN!

    I still haven’t won a blog giveaway, but I hope to host a few more. They are a blast!

    I won $30 on my birthday and it was the best birthday present ever! Paid my bar tab and bought a drunken pizza. perfect

Leave a Reply

