Skip to content

trick-or-treating in footie pajamas

October 31, 2010

I was in kindergarten.

It was the Halloween party.

And I wore my footie pajamas.

I know you know the kind. The ones that zip all the way up from one leg? The ones that you had x-number of pairs in varying colors and designs? The ones that had some odd combination of plastic and polyester that, thinking back on them, had to be in violation of some sort of health code?

Yes, those ones (onesies!).

What was I for Halloween that year?

Not only was I a My Little Pony, but I was a blue pony (blue pajamas) with a yellow mane and tail (yellow yarn).

(Clearly I’m still a fan since the above license plate is hanging on my wall).

To this day it’s my favorite costume from Halloween’s past, even though I’m not a fan so much anymore of the whole costume idea.

To this day I’m not sure if I should be embarrassed or overjoyed that my mom let me go out in public with that costume.

Thanks, Mom and Aunt Mary, for one of the best costumes. Even if I had to explain it to every single kid in my class, even if the neighbors gave me funny looks, I loved every moment of being a My Little Pony.

Happy Halloween!!! (Happy Birthday, Dad!)

What is your favorite childhood costume that you wore?

If you were/are a My Little Pony fan, what was your favorite?  I had so many, but Apple Jack was definitely a keeper for me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 11:25 am

    My Little Pony! My favorite was the white one with hot pink hair. I think she had a rainbow on her butt. Blast from the past:)

  2. November 1, 2010 1:47 pm

    oh my gosh, i loved anything and everything pink and purple…but i can’t remember the names for the life of me!

  3. November 1, 2010 2:17 pm

    I loved my little pony! I used to play with them all the time. Never dressed up as one for halloween though 🙂

  4. November 1, 2010 5:31 pm

    My absolute favorite costume also involved footie pajamas!!! I was a Popple…remember those guys? Loved it.

Leave a Reply

