Skip to content

Holy Protein, Batman

October 29, 2010

Keen-Wa:

Better known as quinoa, is a powerhouse protein that I’ve only just discovered.

Sure I’ve known about it through reading blogs and magazines and browsing grocery store aisles (wait, you don’t do that?) but for some unknown reason I just never went ahead and purchased it or made any.

[Duly noted as one of the mistakes of my life. I will now remedy this mistake by consuming large amounts of quinoa at will.]

Keen-wa (do you mind if I type it like that? I want you to really emphasize it when you say it in your head. Why? Because it’s just that good.) is delicious. It has a hearty, nutty flavor all its own. It’s a power house grain that is perfect for those living a gluten-free lifestyle.

To be honest, I didn’t know what to do with it. But if I can whip something up that makes me crave it when I’m trying to fall asleep, you sure can too!

While this probably sounds like an odd combination, I’m telling you to go for it. I don’t blame you for being skeptical but it tastes delicious and it is so easy.

Here’s what you need:

Quinoa, Corn, Tuna Fish

(Please don’t leave. This blend will melt in your mouth it’s so good.)

Balsamic Vinegar, Parmesan Cheese, Mustard, Plain Yogurt

(It’s all about trust.)

Now what I did was mix together one serving of corn (1/2 cup), one serving of quinoa (1/4 cup dry, cooked), and 1/2 can of tuna fish, but you can really add the ingredients to your desired liking, depending on what you want more of, how many servings you’re making, what your appetite is…

Next I added one tablespoon of yellow mustard, one tablespoon of plain yogurt, and one tablespoon of balsamic vinegar.

Mix it up and sprinkle some grated parmesan cheese on top.

 Really, you can’t go wrong. It tastes great cold and hot so depending on what you’re in the mood for, just go with it!

I’m fully aware that I eat odd food combinations. My family tells me, my friends tell me, and the fact that Heather and I have bonded over this just reaffirms that “one of these is not like the others” (aka: me).

I don’t mind. I embrace it. It tastes good to me!

What’s the oddest food combination you’ve ever eaten?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 3:30 pm

    I love Quinoa! I actually went to get it out of the pantry last night and discovered we were out! I’m glad you found it!

  2. October 30, 2010 8:24 am

    oh i actually think that looks good! i love quinoa!

  3. October 30, 2010 10:17 am

    Mmmm! I’ve never had quinoa, but now I want to try it for real girl 🙂

  4. October 31, 2010 12:32 am

    I’ve never had the red version, I wonder if it tastes any different.

    There are lots of ways you can go wrong with tuna, but I may attempt something similar to this next time I have “keen-wa”

Trackbacks

  1. prep for finals, finally « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

