Skip to content

Anything But “Just” Yogurt

October 27, 2010

The other night I was visiting with some of my friends watching the first part of the season finale of Project Runway (any fans out there?) when we started talking about food.

Topic of my choice? Yes, please!

My friend Jess is a vegetarian and I’m allergic to gluten so we started talking about food substitutes. Somehow oatmeal came up. She said she didn’t like oatmeal.

 

Immediately I was overwhelmed with shock and pity. How could she not like oatmeal? The poor girl! I couldn’t let her suffer any longer. Right away I expressed how much I love oatmeal and that it’s one of my go-to foods for a quick comfort meal. She said she has never liked oatmeal the way she cooks it. I asked her how she made it and she said, “well, you know, just oatmeal.”

Just oatmeal? JUST?

All I could think of was that scene from Finding Neverland where Peter and J.M. Barrie talk about the word “just.”

It goes like this:

Peter Llewelyn Davies: This is absurd. It’s just a dog.

J.M. Barrie: Just a dog? *Just*?

[to his dog, Porthos]

J.M. Barrie: Porthos, don’t listen!

[to Peter]

J.M. Barrie: Porthos dreams of being a bear, and you want to shatter those dreams by saying he’s *just* a dog? What a horrible candle-snuffing word. That’s like saying, “He can’t climb that mountain, he’s just a man”, or “That’s not a diamond, it’s just a rock.” Just.

I couldn’t let Jess make “just” oatmeal any longer. Since I think Kath is, if not the queen of oatmeal, then at least she heads the royal court, I right away introduced Jess to the magical world of oatmeal a la Kath’s tribute.

Then I got to thinking how a lot of the food I eat isn’t “just” anything. Namely, I thought of yogurt.

I have a process that I go through when I eat yogurt. It’s nearly impossible for me to “just” grab a container. I have to prep it, let it sit, and only then can I divulge.

Allow me to take you through this process.

When I eat yogurt I add one or two nut butters and at least one mix-in like oatmeal or fruit to it.

This time around I added good old-fashioned chunky peanut butter, some dark chocolate peanut butter, and oatmeal to my mixed berry.

First I add my nut butters.

(Oh favorite part of the jar, how I love you!)

Then I push them down so that they are on the very bottom of the mix. I like to let them sit there and harden from the cold yogurt. Do it. Trust me.

They become that Christmas present you totally learned about in October and completely forgot you were getting.

Next I add my topping.

And then mix that in carefully so as not to disturb the nut butters on the bottom, but so that it is well coated in yogurt.

Pop it back in the fridge for a little bit to cool again, and only then can I enjoy it.

For sure, this is not “just” yogurt.

 

Are there any foods that you like to eat that require your “own” process to prepare that others usually just grab and go?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 11:03 am

    i’d say yogurt is my thing too…i really like to add oats and sliced fruit to it 🙂

  2. October 27, 2010 11:05 am

    That looks like quite a tasty creation! Loving the look of it. I have a strange way of eating walnuts and almonds. I like to dip them in honey and stack a few raisins or dried cranberries on top before eating them. It’s a bizarre yet intricate process that is all my own!

  3. October 27, 2010 8:58 pm

    oooh your yogurt looks delicious and I love that you so passionately told your friend about all the amazing things you can do with oatmeal!

  4. October 28, 2010 12:21 pm

    I think oatmeal is the main one that I have a process with. I need things too quickly otherwise. LOL

  5. October 28, 2010 4:30 pm

    Oatmeal and also salads, I am really picky with what pairs with what when it comes to salads!

  6. October 28, 2010 8:15 pm

    Mmmm I adore oatmeal too! I don’t know how anyone can’t like it! Very creative with the yogurt too 🙂 Looks scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

