Skip to content

Pumpkin Shenanigans

October 25, 2010

This statement might be considered blasphemy in the blog world but I absolutely detest the taste of squashes and, therefore, pumpkin.

I know it’s all the craze now and every blogger and their mother are stocking up. Be my guest. I lovingly and willingly would give you my share and ration if we were in a time of crisis and each were only alloted so much pumpkin or squash. You can quote me on that.

Try as I may, I cannot stomach the taste, texture, flavor, you name it. It just does not sit well with me.

Despite my personal taste buds’ dislike for them, I love to look at them. I think they are one of the neatest signs of fall and I get so excited when I see pumpkin patches, squash plants, and fall decorations with gourds on them.

So I was pretty excited when some friends and I made a trip to a pumpkin display this past weekend.

A local church, Trinity Church, had their 2nd annual Pumpkin Patch. They had pumpkins of all shapes, colors, and sizes!

Pumpkins, pumpkins, pumpkins!

 Sidenote: It’s simple times like these that I really appreciate where I am and who I’m with. More and more I try to be aware of the moment I’m in. I know a girl who constantly wishes she were somewhere else and even when she is at that “somewhere else” she practically wishes it away by dreading another thing. I don’t want to ever do that. I understand you aren’t always happy with the direction your life is going or the spot you’re in right now. Trust me, I experience those moments, too. Life cannot be perfect. It is impossible. But appreciating simple moments and specific times in your life will give you something to cherish and hold on to. Looking back on smiles and good memories will warm up your soul in those times of trial, both big and small.

And honestly, those things to hold on to can be so simple, even just the incredible orange of these pumpkins is something to appreciate!

These little guys were my favorite. They had rows and rows of them leading the way through the pumpkin patch.

Even my friends were shocked when I told them I didn’t like pumpkins. For the most part, they’re all big fans.

Carving a pumpkin may be an endeavor we attempt this week and they’ve convinced me to try toasted pumpkin seeds. I can do that. Seeds don’t have the same texture as the actual squash, I’m definitely game.

I’ll let you know how it turns out!

On another note, Halloween is less than a week away. Although I’m not a fan of scary movies, there are those classic Halloween movies that I just can’t get through October without. This week and this coming weekend’s agenda include watching Hocus Pocus, Halloween Town, and the Charlie Brown Great Pumpkin episode (which I have never seen, much to my friends’ dismay).

I’m off to a busy Monday. I could use a wand and a spell or two to get me through some of my upcoming papers and exams!

Hope you have a great day!

What are your favorite Halloween movies? Are there any classics that you always watch each year?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 12:16 pm

    pumpkins everywhere! i actually don’t love scary movies…i try to do something funny on halloween so i don’t get scared.

  2. October 25, 2010 1:18 pm

    While I do love eating pumpkin and squash, I love looking at them more. And I completely agree with your little side not about appreciating the simple things. 🙂

    Hocus Pocus is my favorite old school Halloween movie!

  3. October 25, 2010 1:33 pm

    Wow, so many pumpkins!!! Haha that looks like a fun fall day 🙂

  4. October 26, 2010 12:49 pm

    haha I lol’ed at the “blasphemy”! While I love pumpkin, I get enough from the blog world that I don’t include the love on my own blog. *shrug*

    HOCUS POCUS! Holy crap, I haven’t thought about that movie in years, but I love it!

  5. October 26, 2010 3:53 pm

    I don’t think I have a favorite Halloween movie. I do like watching Ghost Hunters Live and ghost shows on Halloween though!

  6. October 27, 2010 4:16 am

    beautiful shots—pumpkins are pretty photogenic 🙂

    no fave halloween movies, not a scary movie person. i’d rather just spend my time eating mellowcreme pumpkins…

Leave a Reply

