Skip to content

A Newport Stroll

October 23, 2010

The weather this weekend has been so gorgeous. The temperature is that perfect mix of “winter is coming wind chill” and “summer is behind us sun warmth.”

Pretty much, it’s fall weather.

And a perfect time to stroll around in Newport. I took a solo walk into town to just think and relax away from my school work and other busy-doings (like writing a request to Town Hall to pardon me from jury duty. That’s right. Halloween came early this year and I received the dreaded letter. All I could think of was that it was like a “Howler” from Harry Potter. Maybe that’s going too far? Either way, I’m a full-time student out-of-state student so I’m keeping my fingers crossed I get excused.)

Rather than take you through my musings and thoughts of the afternoon, I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

Newport is a tourist destination but when the cooler weather hits the season dies down.

Note to self: Purchase these gloves.

It was the perfect time to myself.

 

After awhile I made a social call.

No, not Gas Lamp, although Tina went there recently! I wished she was in Newport longer and we could have had a blogger meet-up.

Instead, I hit up Starbucks.

I met up with my cousin and we chatted away for hours about family, how it’s been so long since we’ve seen each other despite living in the same town, what crazy/busy schedules we have, when we’ll get together next, etc.

 It was a lovely afternoon visit and the perfect pick-me-up.

Do you enjoy going places by yourself or are you more comfortable with company? 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. dmcgirl37 permalink
    October 23, 2010 11:43 am

    I dont really like going places alone! I like being alone in my house but not going places alone..

    Dana xo
    http://happinessiswithinblog.com/

  2. October 23, 2010 1:21 pm

    GORGEOUS pictures – looks like the perfect fall day!

  3. October 23, 2010 8:37 pm

    Hi Natalia! Thank you for visiting my blog. I love the photos in this post of the city. Is that Newport MA you are referring to?

    • Natalia permalink*
      October 24, 2010 10:51 am

      It’s Newport, RI. Have you been there?

  4. October 23, 2010 8:49 pm

    I LOVE your pictures! SO fall-ey! I haven’t had tazo tea at starbucks yet… I always get the pumpkin spice latte 🙂 & I kinda of like being alone to go places.

  5. October 24, 2010 12:16 pm

    What a fantastic little cute town! It looks so inviting and fall like!

  6. October 24, 2010 8:28 pm

    I love it! Beautiful pictures! I like being alone a lot because I can really get into my own head and reflect on life.

Trackbacks

  1. KERF, IRL « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

