Skip to content

Fall with a Quesadilla

October 21, 2010

Maybe it’s just me, but fall makes me want a quesadilla.

Perhaps it’s those years of Spanish class and learning about Los Dias de los Muertes, or the Days of the Dead, a Mexican tradition honoring the dead with celebrations, flowers, prayers, candies, etc.

Put Halloween and Mexican traditions in my head together and my brain sends the signals to my taste buds to start craving Mexican foods and quesadillas.

Who am I to have a problem with that?

I figured I might as well satisfy that craving ahora ( that’s “now” in Spanish- yay for all those words I do don’t remember)!

Thanks to one of the best purchases of my life, my sturdy, trusted George Foreman Lean, Mean, Fat Grilling Machine, a quesadilla was on my plate for dinner last night.

These are beyond easy to make, they’re almost an embarrassment except they taste so good it doesn’t even matter how easy they are.

While my grill heated up I gathered my ingredients.

A wine glass? Shot glassess? Where?

Just the counter top necessities.

I used one Whole Grain Brown Rice to keep it gluten-free. These things are so good. I love how the texture is chewy!

Then I added some Mexican Blend cheese to it.

(You can really use whatever cheese you want. Also, I’m not in the habit of measuring any of my foods, so just go with your gut.)

And to throw in a little extra, I grabbed a meatball from my freezer (stocked up from home) and cut it up and added that to the cheese mix.

Ideally I should have had a vegetable or two in there but I didn’t have any on hand. I’m fine with that since I make sure I get enough fruits and vegetables. One (or two, or three) dinners without them isn’t going to kill anyone.

Then just fold it and put it on the grill and wait for the melting magic to happen.

George will not let you down!

Just a few minutes later I had myself a crispy grilled-to-perfection quesadilla.

I had mine with a little mustard, salsa, and ketchup on the side. Don’t judge. I like variety.

Melted cheese? Check.

Warm meatball? Check.

Chewy/crispy tortilla? Check.

Plenty of dippage? Check.

Craving satisfied? Check, until tomorrow night, that is!

Almost the WEEKEND!

Does anyone else crave certain foods during specific seasons, even if they’re not traditional “seasonal” foods? 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 1:24 pm

    I crave butternut squash soup like CRAZY this time of year-that and cinnamon flavored or scented.

  2. October 22, 2010 12:50 am

    haha this meal is hilarious and bizarre!

    But somehow I still want a George Foreman 😉

  3. October 22, 2010 3:00 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! That quesadilla looks amazing – I’ve never had one before but I’m thinking of trying something similar out next week. My cravings do tend to be in line with whats in season thank goodness, although I do crave salads when theres no cheap salad leaves to be found!

  4. October 22, 2010 8:14 am

    oooh one of my husband’s favorite things!

  5. October 22, 2010 3:38 pm

    Haha I always have weird food cravings. I love ice cream in the winter, soup in the summer, there’s no reasoning to my cravings! Although I suppose lately I’ve been craving fall things like comfort food and pumpkin!

  6. October 22, 2010 10:26 pm

    Delicious! I would totally do this more often if I could.

Leave a Reply

