Skip to content

A Few of My Favorite Things

October 19, 2010
tags:

Anyone who gets the reference to the title is automatically meant to be my friend.

Who doesn’t love The Sound of Music?

It was always the movie my siblings and I watched whenever we were sick. Back then it was a really long movie but now since Hollywood has gotten into making no movie short of 2+ hours, it seems normal. Now that I think about it, my mom probably always put that movie on for us because it was so long, meaning that she could go on about her daily duties in the hopes that we wouldn’t call her for a while… clever, Mom, very clever…

Anyways, in The Sound of Music Julie Andrews’ character sings this whole song about a few of her favorite things. This week has been one of those crazy, no time for anything, where did all these assignments come from, weeks with my classes.

So after listening to the song on youtube and getting all nostalgic for my childhood, that special attention you got from everyone when you were sick, and the bottle of Ginger Ale that was JUST for you, I decided to take a minute, breathe, and focus for a few moments on some of the simple things I’ve been enjoying lately.

1. Pumpkins. I don’t like to eat them, but I love to look at them.

2. This Mary Engelbreit poster on my wall.

3. Those weird candy corn shapes you sometimes get.

4. Since the weather has changed a bit and gotten colder, I have attached my third arm: my hot water bottle.

4. Lighting a candle always gives me a sense of relief, which is great for how busy my week has been. The scent of cider donuts does wonders for my mood. (Read: I blew the candle out after this picture. I’m not exactly looking to be homeless anytime soon).

5. The leaves are really starting to change colors now and I’m trying to take it all in. It goes by so fast!

6. And I’ve been listening to Florence and the Machine’s “Dog Days are Over” on repeat.

Even though my assignments are still stacked up on my desk and my laptop is wondering why I’m so type-happy (actually I’m not exactly happy about it), relishing these few things help me take a step back and reclaim my thoughts.

Now, where is that paper I was so sure I completed last night…..

What do you do when things start to pile up at work, school, or in life in general?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 10:33 am

    When things pile up at work, or in life, I usually clean! haha, it makes me feel like I’m being productive, and it helps me clear my head!

  2. October 19, 2010 11:05 am

    i so wish i liked candy corn…but i don’t! it’s probably better that way though 🙂

  3. October 19, 2010 12:06 pm

    What a great post! such fun to read and think about all the fun tiny little rituals I like to do to usher in a new season:)

  4. October 19, 2010 4:32 pm

    oh I’ve never seen a hot water bottle like that – looks like it could be very useful!

  5. October 20, 2010 10:54 am

    this is so cute! i really think life’s small or simple pleasures are what make it wonderful.

Leave a Reply

