Skip to content

I Dream of Chocolate

October 15, 2010

The weather yesterday was gorgeous and I was in need of time to myself to just think and clear my head.

What did I do?

For one thing, I resisted the urge to devour all the brownies I made earlier this week.

Then I got in my car and drove along Ocean Drive for a bit.

It was the perfect “me” time I was in need of. I find that sometimes even if you’re by yourself, you still need a change of scenery to really get in touch with yourself.   

Enough about my joyride.  

According to one of the versions of Creation in Judeo-Christian teaching, man and woman fell into sin under the temptation of a piece of fruit. Now I love my apples and bananas and strawberries just as much as the next person, but fruit? Really Adam and Eve?

I bet it was chocolate. It would have been my downfall, at least.

I know.

Maybe it’s not the best idea to write one chocolate post right after the other…

…but in my defense, it is kind of a food of the gods.

At least it’s not multiple posts about mushrooms. (Sorry to any mushroom fans out there. You can have my share of them in life!) 

Back to chocolate, though.

This is important. I just had to publicize a recent find of mine.

Not too long ago I was wandering the aisles of Target.

I bet you’re thinking clothes. Hm.. well actually no.

You see, one of the simplest joys in my life is wandering the food aisles of grocery stores. I could spend hours just looking around and reading about products and foods. It gives me inspiration for food and life, even if I’m still just going to go with that easy PB&J for lunch. And it makes me think of my mom, which is always a plus.

A moment of silence for my glorious find.

 When I stumbled upon this godsend, it was like the Heavens opened up and the angels were singing and the cast of High School Musical jumped out from behind the other aisles and…

(Ok. So I was excited.)

But since I recently finished up my Dark Chocolate Dreams I was missing a little something-something in my life.

This beauty showed up just in time.

Here’s a little secret, too. It’s not as expensive as PB&Co (which unfortunately I can’t always/ever afford).

I was really feeling the good vibes and I had a pumpkin lying around so I figured it should join the party.

They look good together!

 

The tasting verdict?

 

Delicious. I might even like it better than DCD!? Of course, I could always sample that one again, too, just to be sure.

 

I loved how creamy and chocolatey it was. The consistency was great and there was definitely more of a chocolate vs. peanut butter flavor going on there and I’m quite a fan of this battle. It’s also a “stir your own,” which I always like best because I prefer to dump out some of the oil and have it chunky/hard.

My recommendation is to go try this out for yourself. If you’re disappointed, I don’t mind taking the jar off your hands. What are friends for anyway?

 

Does anyone else enjoy grocery shopping or window (aisle) shopping like I do? Or is there something wrong with me?

 

That last part is rhetorical.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 11:07 am

    I LOVE DCD but it is pretty expensive (I also love PB&Co’s Crunch Time) so I’ll definitely have to check this out next time I’m at target. Really, I’m not sure it’s possible to go wrong with a PB&Chocolate combination 🙂

    Also, I love love love grocery shopping. I literally have to limit myself from going, so I don’t spend all my money trying out new products!

  2. Natalia permalink
    October 15, 2010 11:46 am

    I stumbled upon your blog and was so excited to find out we have the same name! I rarely find anyone else who has it!
    Yummm…I think I will be needing to make a trip to Target this weekend to find this dark chocolate peanut butter spread!

    • Natalia permalink*
      October 15, 2010 1:29 pm

      Yay! I’ve only met one other person with the name Natalia and it doesn’t really count since she was named from my name. haha. Go to Target and make your weekend amazing!

  3. October 15, 2010 12:48 pm

    Yum! I might have to try that dark chocolate peanut butter spread. It would be so good on apples…and pancakes! : )

  4. October 16, 2010 4:43 pm

    Mmmm I LOVE Archer Farms products. Everything tastes delicious.

    I could wander grocery aisles for-ev-er. How else am I going to find new and interesting ingredients?

Trackbacks

  1. dark chocolate melts my heart « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

