Skip to content

Healing Powers of Chocolate

October 13, 2010

I’m going to let you in on a belief that I have come to understand as true and have therefore established it a fact in my life.

If you’re still following, don’t worry. The fact is simple.

Chocolate has healing powers.

So there’s the research and the beneficial qualities and the scientific data to back up the statement that dark chocolate in moderation actually is healthy.

But what I’m saying doesn’t have to do with health so much as that it has to do with healing.

I believe that chocolate, at least for me, has the ability to lighten my stresses, comfort my heart, and enliven my soul.

The taste isn’t too bad either.

I’m thinking of it as a recovery from such a great weekend. Also, I’m back at school and my internship, which are all good and fine, but that means back to books and work. And the fact that my soul could always use a little warming up isn’t a bad justification either.

Plus, one of my wisdom teeth is tearing full throttle through my gum so I needed something to get my mind off it. Apparently you can only take so much pain reliever mediation in so many hours, even if it doesn’t fulfill the whole “X+ hours no pain” claim…

Anyway, enter my solution.

I’ve had this brownie mix hidden in the pantry at home for awhile now. Somehow I’ve just never gotten around to making it.

That, my friends, is a thing of the past. Not only was I craving some chocolate (healing!) but I find cooking and baking and writing therapeutic.

I thought the stats were pretty good, too. This whole undertaking definitely constitutes as a healthy expedition now.

The ingredients were easy to add. I would have liked to use the lighter version variations but didn’t have them all on hand so I just swapped Canola for butter.

 

Mix the two eggs first.

Then add in the dry mix from the box. It was quite the arm workout! The mixture isn’t liquidy at all.

 

Next was the oil. Still pretty solid but the box says that’s how it’s supposed to be so now worries there, friends!

 

Then pour (or pat?) into a prepared baking dish. I didn’t mind getting my hands dirty since you can’t exactly “pour” the mixture.

I always put a tin foil layer down when baking so the goods are easy to remove. And it’s a little less of a cleaning hassle.

What I really liked about this brownie mix was that it seriously only took 22 minutes to cook in my oven. The quicker they’re done, the faster I can get my hands on them.

You know, so they can start their healing properties and all.

 

These really were decadent. I love how they had chocolate chips throughout and how they even tasted like “dark” chocolate.

I may or may not have tried them with peanut butter and/or Nutella… (I highly recommend this).

 

After tasting I wrapped them up and now they are safe and sound in my freezer.

This way they’re readily available for another healing emergency.

Do you have a go-to healing food?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2010 9:45 am

    oh those look delicious!

  2. October 13, 2010 8:16 pm

    Great advice on the freezing of some for later healing needs! Oatmeal is my comfort food for sure! Nothing makes me feel better…food wise that is.

  3. October 13, 2010 8:18 pm

    Um. Whoa. I don’t really know what else to write! You know brownies are going to be good when they’re so chocolatey that the dough is practically black.

  4. October 13, 2010 10:34 pm

    I just started freezing most of my baked goods. That is an awesome tip, but it is super sad when you open the freezer expecting cookies and you are all out. Sad, sad day.

  5. October 14, 2010 1:21 pm

    I’m with you on chocolate for healing powers. I think it would have to be my go-to as well. 😀

  6. October 15, 2010 11:08 am

    Oh man, a brownie with peanut butter is SO good!!

Trackbacks

  1. dark chocolate melts my heart « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

