Skip to content

Fiesta Fun with Friends

October 5, 2010

Granted, it’s only Tuesday, but already I can’t wait for the next Friday night where my friends and I have another themed dinner party at one of our houses.

 Come time for the end of the week, my friends and I have just about had it with assignments, work, internships, and “last minute readings” sent via email from a professor that you have to read before class in an hour. Therefore, we don’t tend to get fancy when it comes to our dinner parties.

Instead, we vote on a theme cuisine and celebrate with drinks, board games, great food, and even better company.

This past Friday’s theme was Spain.

In early April I was fortunate enough to spend Holy Week and Easter this year in northern Spain during my month long backpacking adventure. Needless to say, I was pretty enthusiastic about Friday’s theme.

Plus, one of my good friends studied abroad in Seville, Spain last fall so she was all about cooking authentic Spanish foods the way her host family taught her.

First, drinks were in order.

Naturally sangria was top on our list. Into the punch bowl we combined red wine, sugar, some lemon and orange juice, club soda, and chopped up apple pieces and orange slices. Oh, and rum. Can’t forget the rum.

We set it to cool in the fridge, but decided we couldn’t wait any longer so we threw some ice in there and poured ourselves some potion.

As far as dinner prep goes, I arrived later in the evening and missed out on the chopping, slicing, and overall cooking process.

Armed with my tasty beverage of choice, I didn’t mind watching the end result.

On the menu we had authentic Spanish pisto, tortilla, and chicken.

The pisto (Google it for official recipes) is basically a wide assortment of vegetables cut up and thrown in a pot. It simmers away, letting the tomato juices (key ingredient) provide sauce-like texture to the dish.

I helped stir while it simmered away.

The tortillas (google Spanish tortillas) can be summed up as Spanish omelets with fried potatoes.

You just need eggs, potatoes, and some flipping skills to create this delight!

To round out the meal and provide some “carne” we grilled some chicken cutlets on a George Foreman grill.

These dishes were all so easy, definitely sides of simple. I recommend you find yourself some recipes and try them out asap!

Dinner was served buffet style and we all helped ourselves.  

My plate, wish some gluten-free crackers and some ketchup.

True Life: Ketchup is a food group.

We also broke out Banagrams.

And then decided (after a glass or two more of sangria) that marshmallows, rice chex, and chocolate chips sounded delicious.

We were right.

The food was delicious and it brought back memories of devouring tapas for Easter dinner with great friends before a group of us started our trek of numerous train rides, flights, and sprints to get to Austria.

Lucky for me, I had a nice warm bed waiting for me this time and was spared spending the night in the Madrid airport and then the Milan train station.

Do you and your friends ever have themed parties? What’s your favorite theme?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 9:03 am

    Oh I love this theme – I lived in Spain for a while and it’s my favorite place and i looove the food!

  2. October 5, 2010 10:41 am

    how fun! and that shot of you is STUNNING…i really need to go to spain…like, yesterday 🙂

  3. October 5, 2010 11:33 am

    How fun!! Man your dinner looks so good!!

  4. October 5, 2010 2:09 pm

    I love Spain!!! And the patata tortilla looks like the real deal. 🙂 I am all about good food and board games with friends.

  5. October 5, 2010 6:20 pm

    Game night! We just had one last night with friends.
    Gotta love that.

    My favorite theme is potluck (can you call that a theme?), but we always wind up with waaaay too much food leftover.
    Maybe an ethnic theme is what needs to happen next.

  6. October 5, 2010 9:30 pm

    That dinner party sounds fantastic! I just did a bring a side dish party…steak dinner provided by Hubby and I…great time! So easy!

    We also did a Cuban Dinner Party and that was also fantastic!! So many great themes!

  7. October 6, 2010 11:03 am

    That looks like so much fun! I LOVE themed parties. I’m hosting one in a few weeks;)

  8. October 6, 2010 6:21 pm

    Woah, everything looks fantastic! I love new flavors! That egg thing looks so delicious!

  9. October 7, 2010 3:39 am

    I only JUST had a themed party last week, based on my lemon tree. 🙂
    I love your little group of foodie friends…they are the best!

  10. October 7, 2010 2:47 pm

    Oh my goodness – what a great night! I have hosted one party at my house, which I will have lived in for two years come December. You just inspired a party, my friend!

    Beautiful picture of you in Spain and food look so delicious!

Leave a Reply

