Skip to content

Sunday Un-Rest

October 3, 2010

Last night I went to bed debating whether or not I was going to take a rest day in the morning when it came to exercise. I fell asleep with the notion that yes, it was going to be a full-bodied rest day.

Apparently I practically woke up in my sneakers. Was it inspiration from my recent gym encounter with Shaq?

Or was it that the only thing on my agenda for the day was papers, reading, and more papers?

 

Hm. Toss up.

I would like to go with all the above.

I knew I would be cooped up inside most of the day working on assignments so I evaluated my weather situation.

The weather was breezy, cool, and overcast, but no rain on the agenda. It bordered on spooky, with the wind rustling through the trees, the mostly empty streets, and the foreboding clouds. Set the mood for October!  

 

I decided to trade in my gym membership card with the Celtics for the pavement.

I brought my camera with me for the ride to take some pictures of my path and whatnot.

Since I wanted to give my body a bit of a rest I stuck to a fast-paced walk. Somewhere between six and seven miles I realized “rest? I don’t think so.” Power walking is tough stuff!

Fortunately I stopped here and there to take some pictures, especially of my favorite homes, even though the white sky didn’t do much for contrast or backlighting.

Newport is known for its Gilded Age mansions, or cottages, as the owners would so lovingly refer to them as. But I find that I’m constantly leaning towards the smaller homes, the ones with little touches here and there. They feel so homey to me and I like to imagine what my future home may look like.

This one reminds me of Green Gables from the Anne Shirley series (one of my favorites of all time).

 

Anne Shirley, meet Harry Potter.

Harry Potter, meet Anne Shirley.

 

Now that I’ve put off my assignments for as long as possible, it’s to the books I go.

At least it’s somewhat of a comfort that both Harry and Anne, two of my favorite literary characters, are students throughout their books.

 

Somewhat being the keyword there.

Do you usually take weekends off when it comes to exercise? Do you switch it up from your weekday routine?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 2:28 pm

    ITS TOTALLY HARRY POTTER ESQUE!!! and beautiful!! ❤

  2. October 3, 2010 5:52 pm

    Whoa…totally reminds me of witches and witchcraft!!!!

  3. October 4, 2010 4:23 pm

    those homes are so awesome! i like to stay active (cleaning, hiking, walking) on the weekends, but don’t really run or go out of my way to get a workout in. hey, i like the rest!

  4. October 4, 2010 6:01 pm

    What cool and interesting homes!

    I am a speed-walker from time to time. Miles 6 and 7 are always the hardest, especially to keep the pace up.

    Speaking of…I might go on a walk right now!

  5. October 4, 2010 6:24 pm

    I usually work out on the weekends too, but I like to switch it up…like hiking for example 🙂 Can’t do much of that on the weekdays!

    Where on earth do you live!? Gorgeous homes!

Leave a Reply

