Skip to content

Just Another Morning…Sort Of

October 1, 2010
tags: ,

To say that today’s workout was just like any other, amidst the changing routines here and there to keep things interesting, would be a lie.

Let me explain.

First off, I didn’t have my camera with me so here are some pictures of my stay in Ireland to move this along. Don’t worry. It should kind of make sense at the end.

Thursday nights tend to start the weekend for many college students. They don’t call it “Thirsty Thursday” for nothing, you know.

I tend to not be that thirsty, though. And anyway, Heidi, Tim Gunn, and Nina Garcia were calling my name. So I stuck to water and a handful or two (or three…) of candy corns and caught up with some friends via Project Runway come 9PM.

To continue, I like to start my weekend off Friday morning with a good groove going, aka not a hangover. So I still get up early and hit up the gym or go for a run depending on the weather. Today’s destination was the gym because of the ominous and unpredictable weather ahead.

So there I am, in the gym, running on the treadmill pounding away. You know, just doing my thing.

As usual, there aren’t many people there in the mornings. On Friday mornings even less show up as per the above explanation.

But then people start filtering in.

These weren’t the usual crowd who came to the gym. No. These people were tall, very tall. Then they had uniform-like outfits of green and black on.

Did I mention most were very tall? Good.

Next thing I know I’m working out with the Celtics.

You read right. I’m not talking some Irish people fresh off the boat.

I’m talking about the basketball team. The NBA. The 17-time World Champion Boston Celtics.

They’ve been using the fitness center at my school for their training camp. I saw them last year in the gym, too, but this time I had completely forgotten that they were around. Plus, my family was never big on watching sports on TV since we haven’t had ours hooked up since I was four so I’m pretty clueless when it comes to famous athletes.

But either way, it’s a pretty small gym so everyone in there usually acknowledges or is aware of anyone else there.

You bet I cranked up the speed.

You bet I ran faster.

When I finished up (and after a few smiles and nods to none other than the Boston Celtics) I headed back to my apartment and rewarded myself for just life in general.

Sadly, I didn’t have a Guinness to reward myself with (and with a gluten allergy it wouldn’t have been worth it anyway) but in came…

Dark Chocolate Dreams: Be.Still.My.Heart.

Sadly, all good things must come to an end…or at least until I can salvage some more loose change to buy another jar of DCD.

What’s the oddest experience you’ve ever encountered while working out?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2010 12:42 pm

    Oh that’s so cool about the Celtics! I almost stepped on a huge snake once when I was jogging. Far from an NBA basketball player, but an odd encounter indeed;)

  2. October 1, 2010 12:51 pm

    I can’t think of the oddest thing I’ve experienced but I can give you something odd I saw today. There was a chick working out in yoga in cropped jeans. Not comfy! She did it the other week too. Crazy woman!

    • Natalia permalink*
      October 1, 2010 2:36 pm

      I can’t even imagine! That makes me think of when people going swimming with jean shorts on… I cringe just thinking about it!

  3. October 1, 2010 1:25 pm

    oh my gosh those photos are absolutely stunning! i want to go to there… 🙂

  4. October 1, 2010 5:34 pm

    I love the pics from Ireland!

  5. October 3, 2010 11:42 am

    Oh my word – that’s definitely an event to brag about! especially considering how many people missed out because they were out on a thirsty thursday 😉
    I love the Ireland pictures!!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Un-Rest « A Side of Simple
  2. Tradition Success and Counting « A Side of Simple
  3. live and blog your style « A Side of Simple

Leave a Reply

