Skip to content

Glutton for Gluten (Free)

September 26, 2010

 

Saturday my mom, little sister, and I took a drive around town. We wanted to take in the early fall day, although the weather was more akin to a summer scorcher. In the midst of catching up about life, getting excited for our annual apple-picking event come Columbus Day weekend, and debating what my little sister should wear to her dance next weekend (it’s a big deal, trust me), we stumbled upon the Horton House

Outside were pumpkin balloons and some people dressed up in colonial outfits. Of course we stopped the car.

The Horton House is a local family center that transports visitors back into the colonial age. They put on everything from traditional Thanksgiving dinners, to High Tea Luncheons, to butter churning workshops. It’s a pretty neat setup they have going on there in their 200 plus-year-old house!

Lucky for us, Saturday was their annual Pumpkin Festival and they had a delicious array of pumpkin foods. Unfortunately they weren’t gluten-free and all had flour in them, but it smelled delicious and the table looked like a picturesque display of autumn flavors. (No picture, sorry).

The family who owns the establishment was so welcoming and generous. Turns out a few of our family friends were volunteering and were in costume, too!  It was a perfect taste of fall and colonial life for our Saturday.

Earlier my mom and I also took a drive to a local health food store in our area.

We had heard that they were having a little tasting of gluten-free foods for a “Back to School” event.

Well, I’m a student. Sign me up!

They had a pancake tasting table…

A nut butter tasting table complete with cashew, peanut, and almond butter with all butters freshly ground right from the store that morning… YUM!

This was the first time I had ever tried cashew butter or almond butter.

I foresee a smaller wallet in my future. I’m in love.

Although I continue to have a lifelong devotion to peanut butter.

It’s irreplaceable.

Then we moved on to the snack table and the cupcake decorating station!

Oh you bet we did.

I tried a sample of each cake (one was vegan AND gluten free, the best in my opinion!) with a dollop of vanilla and chocolate frosting. Because really, why not? I added a few sprinkles for good measure.

Look at that.

I know you want it.

I liked how the store put on a little sampling display of gluten free foods because so often I want to try a product, but the few times I’ve bought a mix I’ve been disappointed. Then I’m left with an (expensive) bag/box of something I don’t want. I wished they have more products available for tasting and testing, or gave out a few recipes, but it was still worth the stop. 

I mean come on.

I got to decorate a cupcake with sprinkles. And then I got to eat it.

And I was able to taste test cashew butter and almond butter without paying for an entire jar.

I’d say it was a good Saturday afternoon.

Have you ever tried any gluten-free or vegan mixes? What did you think?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 3:38 pm

    We went to a gluten free vendor fair this weekend and Tony was in heaven! It was weird going somewhere like that where he could eat anything he wanted. I still couldn’t but that’s ok. Your day looks great. I am so ready for it to feel like fall here!

    I love bob’s red mill stuff. I don’t do pamela’s because she puts dairy in a lot of her stuff. Honestly, I haven’t tried much else since I got hooked on bob before king arthur came out with their flour mix. If you try it, let me know what you think. I always make my pancakes and waffles from scratch though, I think it is cheaper and just as easy.

  2. September 26, 2010 5:17 pm

    That looks like such a cool fair. Love all the food tasting. And the pumpkin pictures are gorgeous. 😀

  3. September 26, 2010 6:12 pm

    This whole post has my mouth watering! I haven’t tried any gluten or vegan mixes, but I realllllly want to. Living in rural NH, it is hard to get my hands on items like this. Heck, the nearest Walmart is 45 minutes away! But, this post has motivated me to find it quick even if I have to order online 🙂

  4. September 26, 2010 8:15 pm

    I haven’t tried any gluten free or vegan mixes, but I’d certainly be open to giving it a whirl. The food looked delicious! Looks like a great time with the family :).

  5. September 27, 2010 1:47 am

    My friend is gluten free. Mostly I don’t notice the difference when I eat at her house, but we usually stick to a set of certain dishes she makes that I loooooove and ask for every time I come. (She does this thing with chips and heated up green salsa…to die for. And let’s not even get started about her vegetable stir fry.)

    The only thing that wasn’t a winner, really, was the whole squid incident.

    But we will not discuss the squid incident, or the whole baby octopus, ever again. It’s agreed.

  6. September 27, 2010 1:50 am

    Oh, how I wish there were *any* festivals like that in/near my city! Freshly-ground nut butters, pancakes, cupcakes… what a wonderful day!

    P.S. I love the sweet creaminess of cashew butter, but I think peanut butter will always own my heart.

  7. September 27, 2010 8:13 am

    what a great Saturday – all those samples look so good!

  8. September 27, 2010 12:17 pm

    Yum! My favorite gluten-free mix is Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-free pancake mix. Sooo good.

  9. September 27, 2010 6:10 pm

    Butter churning workshop? Sign me up! Then take me to that health food store…gluten free foods and nut butter tastings? A good Saturday afternoon indeed!
    P.S. So happy to hear you loved the almond butter. 🙂

    • Natalia permalink*
      September 27, 2010 7:45 pm

      Now I know why you eat it =)

  10. September 27, 2010 6:42 pm

    Pancake Tasting? Nut butter tasting? candy tasting? gluten-free heaven !!! OMG! JACKPOT!!!!! ❤

    • Natalia permalink*
      September 27, 2010 7:45 pm

      I know, right!? I drove three hours home for this extravaganza. I’m devoted.

Leave a Reply

