Skip to content

Home is Like a Ritual

September 24, 2010

It’s something I savor, something I look forward to, something that I want to wrap my heart around until it just can’t escape.

My home is precious to me and it’s a ritual of love.

 

Last night I made the drive from school to home. At the last minute I was debating if I should just stay at school for the weekend, but somewhere in my soul home beckoned. Heck, everywhere in my soul it beckoned. 

And I’m so glad I took this yearning up on its offer.

I haven’tt even been home for 12 hours yet and already I have spent a great evening with my parents, cuddled in my bed, gossiped with my little sister, and told my brothers their muscles are growing (whether or not it’s true, they like to hear it).

In less than 12 hours I’ve also relished the beauty of my driveway as it turns a new leaf…

…transitioning from summer…

 

…to fall.

I’ve met a good friend (who I’ve only recently met and completely adore) for some early morning catching up and caffeine.

I’ve spotted three new horses at a nearby farm that were just begging for a photo shoot.

And I’ve raided the kitchen only to discover a brand new (actually, it’s old..but it’s new to our utensil drawer) spoon that was just begging for me to christen it with a fantastic bowl of yogurt and banana.

Hm.

I would say this weekend is off to a pretty good start.

What do you savor about home?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. eatmovewrite permalink
    September 24, 2010 5:55 pm

    I love my “couch blanket,” snuggling in front of the tv, watching a movie with hubby. I love taking walk around our neighborhood. I love home, too.

  2. September 24, 2010 9:50 pm

    Home is where my boys (meaning my husband and 2 little ones) are. I swear, I could be anywhere, but if they are with me…I feel comfortable. Enjoy your home this weekend!

  3. September 26, 2010 10:46 am

    I savor everything about home because it’s 1200 miles away! My husband and I moved to NH from GA two year ago, and we only make it home once a year. In fact, this year we couldn’t afford to take the time off so we didn’t get to go home. It’s been a year since I’ve seen my folks and sisters and brother. So, yes, I savor every second that I am home 🙂

    • Natalia permalink*
      September 26, 2010 10:54 am

      Oh, I hope you get to visit home soon! Do you have any plans to make a trip with the Holiday season around the corner?

Leave a Reply

